MCMC Turkey Run - (Fri) 30 Dec 16

Posted: January 1, 2017 5:37 PM - 8854 Hits

Counting Round - 2017 Junior 1000 Rally Challenge

Bennett Brilliant at Shackleton! Round 1 - 2017 McGrady Insurance Junior 1000 Rally Challenge Ireland

Posted: January 1, 2017 1:48 PM

The first round of the 2017 McGrady Insurance ANICC Junior 1000 Rally Challenge Ireland, in association with took place at Shackleton near Ballykelly, for the Maiden City Motor Club's MJM Group Turkey Run event. Five Junior 1000 crews lined up for the six stage event, in relatively dry conditions, as the 14-17 year rally stars of the future took to the venue that is one of the favourites of the season.

2016 championship runner up, 16 year old Peter Bennett with co-driver Mac Kierans, put a late entry in with a hired left hand drive Micra, the very car that won the inaugural challenge back in 2012. For the Loughgall teenager this was a day's fun, and he really flung the wee car around to set the pace from the word go. Peter who won the Dogleap event in August at Shackleton took fastest time on each of the six stages to round out the day with a commanding 1 minute 49 second victory. A major tank slapper moment in fourth gear on the final stage was the only real drama as he showed his ability. "I've had so much fun today with the Micra. We couldn't have pushed any harder and we had some moment on the final stage. We made a late decision to come and contest the event to keep the driving up and it was excellent" said Peter. As it was a one off appearance Peter elected not to collect championship points, as he prepares to debut an R2 Skoda Fabia later this season when he turns 17.

Scottish visitor 15 year old Peter Beaton is once again committed to contesting the series and he acquired Josh McErlean's Peugeot 107 on the eve of the start. With co-driver Kenny Foggo, Peter started off the event very well, second fastest and revelling in the handling of his new machine. Indeed the Scottish dup looked all set to take that second place and a full haul of points until stage four, when they slid wide on the final muddy bend and got stuck for fifty second on a grass bank. They continued undamaged to collect third and second placed points, and Peter showed an increased pace ahead of the second round at Kirkistown.

15 year old Sam Adams from Armoy was making his rally debut in the Skoda Citigo recently acquired from Peter Bennett, and he started off steadily in third place as he got used to car and venue. Sam however was enjoying every moment of the competition and progressed into second place after Peter Beaton's mistake on stage four. The Armoy teenager had been improving his pace all day under the watchful eye of his co-driver and by the final stages he on par with Peter Beaton's times, which could make things very interesting for round two!

Another newcomer on his first event was Rory Byrne from Mayobridge in his Volkswagen UP. Rory started strongly just a few seconds behind Sam Adams in his similar Skoda, and indeed finished just twenty seconds behind after an enjoyable days sport. Rory is very much looking forward to round two, and he intends to get in some more practice to further improve his pace.

It was just the second rally for 14 year Marcus McElwee in his Nissan Micra. The Magherafelt teenager had the experienced John Henderson on the notes, but it was to be one of those days for young Marcus. A spin on stage one cost time, and the Micra wasn't handling well all day, not helping Marcus's confidence. On the penultimate stage it was all over as a drive-shaft broke, and we hope that the issues can be resolved for round two, where Marcus could once again show the pace he demonstrated on his debut in August.

Video Clips

Posted: January 1, 2017 1:19 PM

In Car

Posted: January 1, 2017 1:11 PM

Steve Smith & Ash Boulton (Honda Civic) SS4

Kyle White & Sean Topping (Peugeot 208 R2) SS5

Gerard Mc Hugh & Andrew Mc Loone (Talbot Sunbeam 1600 8V) SS4


Posted: January 1, 2017 1:10 PM


Posted: January 1, 2017 1:09 PM

1 Derek McGeehan/Martin McNicholl (Mini WRC) 26:53.0
2 Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Skoda Fabia R5) 26:54.2
3 Alan McGeehan/Niall Magee (Mini WRC) 27:19.3
4 Richard Tannahill/Brian Crawford (Citroen DS3 R5) 27:34.9
5 Martin Cairns/Clare Gamble (Ford Fiesta WRC) 27:41.0
6 John Bradley/Ryan Crozier (Ford Escort MkII) 28:02.6
7 Marty Gallagher/Jack Gallagher (Peugeot 208 R2) 28:03.0
8 Johnny Morrow/Adam Semple (Toyota Corolla) 28:03.5
9 Michael Dunlop/Barry McKenna (Ford Escort MkII) 28:19.5
10 Rodney White/Crawford Henderson (Talbot Sunbeam) 28:19.7

Class Winners
Class 1: Robert Reilly/TBA (Honda Civic)
Class 2: Billy Vance/Sean Doherty (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8)
Class 3: Ronan Greene/Gerard Greene (Vauxhall Nova)
Class 4: Damien Cullen/Sean McElwaine (Honda Civic)
Class 5: Marty Gallagher/Jack Gallagher (Peugeot 208 R2)
Class 6: Alan Atcheson/Thomas Wedlock (Ford Escort)
Class 7: John Bradley/Ryan Crozier (Ford Escort)
Class 8: Brendan McDaid/Karl Reid (Ford Escort)
Class 9: Derek McGeehan/Martin McNicholl (Mini WRC)
Class 9A: Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Skoda Fabia R5)
Class 10: Gerard McHugh/TBA (Chrysler Sunbeam)

Leaders After:
SS1-2 Derek McGarrity/Damien Garvey (Ford Fiesta WRC)
SS3-5 Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Skoda Fabia R5)
SS6 Derek McGeehan/Martin McNicholl (Mini WRC)

Stage Winners:
SS1 Derek McGarrity/Damien Garvey (Ford Fiesta WRC)
SS2 Barry Morris/Declan Campbell (Ford Escort Mk II)
& Brendan McDaid/Karl Reid (Ford Escort Mk II)
SS3 Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Skoda Fabia R5)
SS4 Joe McGonigle/Ciaran Geaney (Skoda Fabia R5)
SS5 Derek McGeehan/Martin McNicholl (Mini WRC)
SS6 Derek McGeehan/Martin McNicholl (Mini WRC)

Final Instructions 1 & 2

Posted: December 28, 2016 2:34 PM

Available at:

Entries Received

Posted: December 18, 2016 5:07 PM

Available at:

NEWSFLASH - Turkey Run Rally

Posted: November 17, 2016 3:29 AM

It has just been announced that Maiden City MC will be running the 2016 Turkey Run Single-Venue Rally on Friday 30th December 2016 at the extensive Shackelton Airfield in Ballykelly, Co Derry. This will also be counting round for the Junior 1000 Challenge Rally, for the 2017 championship.

We are happy to announce these details now, with the cancellation of the 2015 event.

Once again, site owners MJM will act as title sponsor for the event, after Christmas, with a double helping of festive cheer. Firstly, the main event will cater for all drivers and co-drivers on the day, competing over six special stages on the demanding track of the former RAF base. Added to this is the first round of the NI Junior Challenge for the 2017 season, a hughly popular event for the up and coming drivers of the future.

Secretary of the Meeting, Stephen McCay gave brief details of the event, and said that there had been a fresh approach to the event with some changes to the route and layout of the course. Stephen said,
"There is a new COC for the event, who will be working with other Senior Officials to put some new ideas in place for this time of the year with the short days and potential icy weather. We will give more details shortly, but Entries are now open. Entry forms and regulations can now be downloaded from the club website.

Regulations Available / Club Website

Posted: November 17, 2016 3:27 AM

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed