Tipperary Rallysprint - 26 Apr 15

Posted: May 19, 2016 9:27 AM - 4797 Hits

Mighty Manton takes the win in Tipp!

Posted: May 19, 2016 9:27 AM

This year's Tipperary Rallysprint was fortunate to have doubled its entries from 2014 and attracted a total of 88 competitors to Powerstown Park Racecourse. After some showers of rain on Saturday, Sunday morning began with blue skies to the delight of both competitor and spectator alike.

This year's event consisted of 2.3km of mostly tarmac with some gravel at the start line and kicked off at approx 10:30am. After the first run local man Paul Manton took the early lead , despite clipping a bale in his Subaru Impreza, of just 3.6seconds over Sam Smyth in his Ford Escort. In third place was current National Junior Rally Champion Cormac Phelan who entered his Honda Civic Ek4 and was adapting quickly to right hand driver again having competed in the Circuit of Ireland in his left hand drive Citroen C2R2 Max.

After the second run Manton continued to hold and extend his lead to 4 seconds with Cormac Phelan taking second overall from Sam Smyth. Padraig Egan in his JB Buggy moved into third place. The third run would see the leader board remain the same with Manton's leads extending to 7 seconds.

For the 4th and 5th runs the track was changed and competitors completed the course in the opposite direction starting beside the main grand stand. This change didn't seem to affect Paul Manton who continued his charge and stretched out his lead to 9 seconds from local man Pat O'Connell in his Mitsubishi Evo 9 who took up second place. Cormac Phelan moved to third place with a narrow lead of just .2 of a second from Sam Smyth.

The 5th and final run would see a Paul Manton maintain his lead to take victory with Sam Smyth in 2nd and local man Pat O'Connell taking 3rd overall.

Tipperary Motor Club would like to thank COC Michael Boland and his team for their hard work over the past number of months in ensuring the day was a success. Thank you also to all the competitors, marshals, officials and spectators.

Entry List / Entries Received

Posted: April 24, 2015 8:46 AM

Regulations Available

Posted: April 14, 2015 5:43 PM


Posted: March 6, 2015 12:49 PM


Posted: March 6, 2015 12:48 PM

Tipperary Motorclub will host their Rally Sprint event on Sunday 26th April 2015 in Powerstown Park Racecourse, Clonmel.

After the sucess of last years event run by Micheal Boland, Tipperary Motorclub are delighted to announced that they will be returning to Powerstown Race course for the rally sprint again this year.

COC for this years event will again be Micheal Boland.

Prelim details so far:

    Track: 2.3km of tarmac
    5 timed runs (3 one way and 2 in reverse) , 2 reserve runs
    Contact: 086-1934003 or 087-9556378 (+353 86-1934003 or +353 87-9556378)

    More details will be announced shortly.

Club Website

Posted: March 6, 2015 12:47 PM

Topics: Rallysprint 

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed