Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

2014 Border Rally Championship

Posted: November 30, 2016 11:13 AM - 5067 Hits

2014 Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship

Launch of the 2014 Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship
Photo: James Burke

Moffett/Sherry are 2014 Sligo Pallets Border Champions

Posted: November 30, 2016 11:13 AM

The 2014 Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship resulted in new champions crowned as Monaghan duo David Moffett & Fintan Sherry took the title. The pair dominated the very competitive class 11R taking class wins in each of the four events they contested. Pushing them all year were former champions (although not together) Brian Armstrong & Mark Tierney. This pair came out on top of the class 12 battle and were just one point behind Moffett/Sherry at season end. 3rd overall went to the Cavan pairing of Gene McDonald/Kevin Reilly who competed in class 9.

This was the 4th year that the Border Championship was sponsored by Sligo Pallets and the committee of the Border Championship wish to thank Andrew Mullen for all his support during this time. The championship has grown in popularity over these years. It is not only popular it, is competitive too. No fewer than 7 crews still had a chance of winning the championship going into the final round, showing just how open this class-based championship is. In the end there can only be one winning crew and Moffett/Sherry snatched it after an awesome run over Atlanta Drive to clinch the class win they needed by just two seconds!

Class Winners

Class 2 Champions Brian Quigley/Seamus McTigue

Brian Quigley & Seamus McTigue clinched class 2 in their Honda Civic. The pair were in overall contention up until the final round but retirement in Donegal left them outside of the overall placings. Their performance was still good enough to take class 2 with a class win in Cavan and 2nd in Mayo, Monaghan and Sligo contributing to their success. Eamonn Russell/Gavin O'Donnell finished 2nd in class 2 after top three finishes in Mayo, Cavan and Donegal. Mark Boyle/Charles Gallagher were 3rd with a win in Mayo their highlight of their year.

Class 3 Champion Mark Ewing

Donegal driver Mark Ewing claimed victory in class 3 in his Honda Civic taking class wins in Monaghan and and Sligo.

Class 4 Champions Trevor Bustard/John McCafferty

Trevor Bustard returned to the Border Championship in 2014 after recovering from his big off in Sligo in 2012. Along with co-driver, John McCafferty, their pair clinched class 4 after a year long battle with Pat Kirk/John McElhinney which went all the way to the final round.

Class 5 Champion Eamon McCafferty

John McCafferty's, brother took victory in class 5 in his Ford Puma after wins in Mayo, Cavan and Donegal.

Class 6 Champions Liam Branley/Nathan Burrows

Donegal pair Liam Branley/Nathan Burrows took victory in class 6 after over-hauling early frontrunner Eddie Peterson. Peterson took victory in Mayo and 3rd in Monaghan but problems over the remaining rounds allowed the more consistent Branley/Burrows to take the class by one point.

Class 7 Champions Roger Kennedy/Wendy Blackledge

Perennial Border competitors, Roger Kennedy/Wendy Blackledge took the class 7 laurels with four class wins and a second place during the year.

Class 8 Champion Gary McElhinney

Gary McElhinney is the class 8 winning navigator for 2014 after navigating Paddy McVeigh and Kevin Barrett during the year.

Class 9 Champions Laurence Sherry/Mark Sheridan

Laurence Sherry and Mark Sheridan clinched the class 9 title after a great battle with Gene McDonald/Kevin Reilly. McDonald/Reilly finished 3rd overall promoting Sherry/Sheridan to 1st in class. The highlight of their year was winning the Driver of the Day in Cavan. Declan Connolly/Alison Hughes & Aaron Duffy/Thomas Wedlock kept them honest throughout the year.

Class 10 Champions Cathal Sheridan/Niall Kelly

Monaghan's Cathal Sheridan took class 10 victory in his Vauxhall Nova after a class win in Monaghan, 2nd in Sligo, 3rd in Cavan and 4th in Donegal. Niall Kelly was navigating for his brother John and they took three class wins but two retirements left John as runner-up behind Cathal.

Class 11F Champions Alan Lawson/Sean Harte

Alan Lawson/Sean Harte won class 11F in their Honda Civic. The Sligo pair saw off the challenge of the similar car of Adrian Cannon/Paddy McCrudden to take class honours after finishing in the top three in each of the five rounds.

Class 11R Champions Kevin Bradley/Graham Henderson

Kevin Bradley/Graham Henderson took class 11R in their Escort. They opened their account with a class win in Mayo and followed it up with 2nd in Monaghan and 4th in Donegal. Declan Hall/Chris Corr finished as runners-up in their Toyota Corolla just three points adrift. 3rd in class in Sligo was their best result of the year. Paul Carron/Andrew Browne completed the top three positions in their Toyota Corolla thanks to two 3rd place finishes.

Class 12 Champions Martin Toner/Sharon Clarke

Martin Toner guided his rare Sunbeam to victory in class 12 after a brilliant battle all year with overall runners-up Brian Armstrong/Mark Tierney. Toner took four second places and a 6th in class over the year. Sharon Clarke sat with Justin Smyth on the earlier rounds winning 1st time out in Ballina. A puncture cost them the class in Monaghan and they finished 3rd in Sligo. Sharon then teamed up with Martin Toner in Donegal to secure 1st class 12 navigator. James Cassidy/Declan Smith were runners-up in class 12 with Justin Smyth 3rd.

Class 13 Champion Russell Woods

Cavan man Russell Woods emerged victorious in class 13 in his Escort with 3rd in class in Cavan his best result.

Class 14 Champions Jack Maguire/Andy Hayes

Jack Maguire & Andy Hayes clinched class 14 in their Escort. 3rd in class in Cavan along with solid scores in Mayo & Monaghan was enough to clinch the class 14 title.

Class 15 Champions Colin Flanagan/Patrick Brides

Leitrim's Colin Flanagan & Patrick Brides emerged victorious in class 15 after wins in Mayo, Sligo and Donegal. Derek Bolton/Trevor O'Connell finished as runners-up in their Subaru.

Class 16 Champions Stefan McCann/Stephen McElroy

Stefan McCann/Stephen McElroy won class 16 in their Peugeot 205. They finished all but one of the rounds in an impressive first year competing.

Class 20 Champions Michael Carbin/Emmet McCooey

Michael Carbin & Emmet McCooey came out on top in class 20 after great battle all year with David Leonard & Darragh Mullen. Leonard was on top in Mayo & Monaghan before Carbin fought back in Cavan & Sligo. The Monaghan pair then clinched the class in Donegal with Leonard absent from the event.

Congratulations to David Moffett & Fintan Sherry on their magnificent championship win and indeed to all 2014 class winners. The committee of the Border Rally Championship would like to thank all the competitors who contested the championship this year and we hope to see you all again in 2015!

Points after Donegal (Final Round)

Posted: July 17, 2014 4:56 PM

Available at:

Championship Rounds

Posted: January 29, 2014 8:23 PM

  1. Mayo Stages Rally - 9 Mar 14
  2. Monaghan Stages Rally - 27 Apr 14
  3. Cavan Stages Rally - 25 May 14
  4. Connacht Stages Rally - 13 Jul 14
  5. Donegal Harvest Stages Rally - (Sat) 11 Oct 14

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed