Manx National Rally - 10-11 May 13

Posted: June 27, 2017 5:31 AM - 6104 Hits

Round 2 - 2013 MSA Asphalt Rally Championship
Round 2 - 2013 Manx Rally Championship

Special Stage TV Program on Line

Posted: June 27, 2017 5:31 AM

REIS – Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship - BIRD’S EYE ON A HAT-TRICK!...

Posted: May 3, 2013 10:56 AM

Paul Bird returns to the Isle of Man for the second round of the REIS – Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship, the Manx National Rally, with his sights set on joining the elite club of drivers who have won the event three times. The Cumbrian’s Ford Focus WRC took victory in 2009 & 2010 but, following an accident two years ago, came back to take runner-up spot in 2012. This time Bird has last year’s winning co- driver Aled Davies sitting with him and, with their combined experience of the closed public roads on the island, there are considerable grounds for optimism!

Someone who would dearly love to take their maiden victory on the Manx is defending MSA Asphalt Champion Damian Cole. He was 3rd last year and, while further development is carried out on his new-build Ford Escort MkII, the Get Connected boss will be relying on his trusty Focus WRC once again. Having finished one place behind Cole in 2012, John Stone (Skoda Fabia WRC) starts in a similar position this time, while REIS – Get Connected Championship leaders following their victory on the Tour of Epynt, Steve Simpson/Patrick Walsh (Subaru Impreza WRC), are at No.5. Walsh was the winning co-driver on the event two years ago, but 2007 Asphalt Champion Simpson has yet to taste champagne on

Manx driver Nigel Cannell, at the wheel of his Mitsubishi Lancer EVO9 in which he actually finished 2nd overall in 2011, has indicated his intention to rejoin the Group N battle this year. On this occasion, he will have the Imprezas of Richard Barnard, Chris Rice and Julian Barnett for company.

Roy Millington is supporting the Rear-Wheel Drive category in the Championship in 2013 and, although contenders are not required to run Millington engines, it goes without saying that he will be hoping the eventual winner is thus equipped! The top three contenders in the Manx entry – John Indri, Ashley Field and Washington James – all have 2.5 litre-engined Darrian T90s, while the ‘Escort Brigade’ is led by Graham Hollis, Paul Swift, Keith Robathan and Pete Rayner. For Pete the stages on the Isle of Man will be an all-new experience! 2012 Champion Richard Felgate is back in his BMW M3, with Geoff Glover’s RWD Astra adding further variety to the sizeable list.

Having won the Championship’s Front-Wheel Drive trophy last year, Matt Beebe/ Paula Swinscoe (MG ZR 190) are aiming for a repeat this time. Following the Tour of Epynt, they’re on the right track but, with such competition as the Nova of Darren & Sue Underwood and Alex Laffey’s Fiesta S2000, nothing can yet be taken for granted!

AB Motorsport Peugeot 205 Challenge winners last year Tim Daltry/Emma Morrison are looking for more of the same but, obviously, a finish is a pre-requisite and, on such a tough event as the Manx, that can sometimes be a big ‘ask’! In addition to an end-of-season award to the top 1400cc contender – which Antony Williams (Ford Fiesta) will have his eye on! – Fuchs Titan Race are putting up a £50 product voucher for the ‘Best Improvement on Seeding’ on each round of the MSA Asphalt Championship. Then there’s the John Horton Motorsport Management ‘Star Performer’ award to be contested and, consequently, there will be plenty going on as the Manx National Rally unfolds!

Retaining its popular two-leg format, the event is based at the famous TT Grandstand in Douglas. More than half the 90+ entry are Championship-registered and the first car is away shortly before 7.00pm on the Friday evening for the first of eight special stages. Then, following an overnight halt, competitors are off again at 8.30am for a further twelve stages prior to the ceremonial finish at 4.00pm on the Saturday afternoon. The team from ‘Special Stage’ will be filming for a programme which is scheduled to be broadcast on Motors TV on Friday 31st May at 9.00pm.

Seeded Entry List

Posted: April 30, 2013 12:30 PM

Entries Received

Posted: April 20, 2013 8:37 AM

Available at:

Regulations / Details

Posted: March 9, 2013 4:28 PM

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed