Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

2017 South East Stages Rally Championship

Posted: September 14, 2017 8:58 AM - 4481 Hits

Points after Final Round (Provisional)

Posted: February 14, 2017 8:51 AM

Please note points will remain provisional for 21 days until 02/10/2017 at 10.00 p.m. and will then be declared final subject to any queries being resolved.


Posted: February 3, 2017 7:06 AM

The 2017 SUIRWAY GROUP South East Stages Rally Championship was launched at the 2016 awards night in The Seven Oaks Hotel in Carlow. James Coleman, MD of the SUIRWAY GROUP, who presented the awards for the 2016 championship, expressed his delight at the exposure that his company enjoyed through his sponsorship of the championship. The SUIRWAY GROUP SES Rally Championship has been commented on as one of the better kept secrets in Irish rallying. Despite the fact that the South East Stages Rally Championship has been in existence for about 30 or so years in one form or another.

When the SUIRWAY GROUP came on board in 2015, James brought a host of innovative thinking into promoting the championship and making it an attractive and competitor friendly rally Championship.

The promoting Clubs are: Carlow, Carrick-on-Suir, Munster, Tipperary and Wexford. There are six rounds, two forestry and four tarmac. The forestry are the Willie Loughman Forestry Rally promoted by the Carrick-on-Suir Club and held in the nearby forests of Carrick. On the 8th of April Munster Car Club has the Moonraker Forestry Rally held in Ballyvourney, Co. Cork, not exactly in the South East but should qualify as part of the 'Ancient East'!!! The stages there benefitting from the recently installed wind farms. Both events are also rounds of the Valvoline National Forestry Rally Championship. The Tarmac rounds are the Carlow Stages Rally 7th May, Ravens Rock Rally 25th June, Stonethrowers Rally 13th August and Wexford Stages Rally 9th & 10th September. To qualify for an award, you must start at least 2 events.

    Separate registration for driver and navigator.
    Double points for nominated bonus round.
    Super special stage for fastest registered competitor in each group.
    2 Sponsored entries on each round.
    Competitors best 5 rounds to count.
    Extra prizes for Juniors (Group 1)
    New for 2017 is a group for the J1000 class
    Free tickets to championship prizegiving for all award winners.
GROUPS 1 - 7 & Group J1000.
The Class definitions were replaced with the word Group as there was a dissimilarity between the National Championships / Motorsport Ireland classes and those of the South East Stages. Instead of having 20 classes in the championship, the classes were adjusted into GROUPS. This was to allow the maximum number of competitors to compete and attain maximum points versus the number of cars in each group.

The promoting clubs agreed to sponsor an entry for one event, this was matched by the SUIRWAY GROUP also sponsoring an entry for each event for drivers who registered for the championship. For example Pierce Doheny (Group 2)w won the sponsored entry for the 2017 Willie Loughman Forestry Rally. From the 2017 registered crews there will be two sponsored entries from Group 2 to the Moonraker Forestry Rally. (*Terms and conditions apply. The crews will have to pay the insurance levies)
    Round 1. 12th February 2017: Carrick on Suir Motor Club - Willie Loughman Forestry Rally**. Group 2 - Two Sponsored Entries to Moonraker Forestry Stages Rally
    Round 2. 8th April, 2017: Munster Car Club ? Moonraker Forestry Stages Rally** Group 6 - Two Sponsored Entries to Carlow Stages Rally
    Round 3. 7th May, 2017: Carlow Stages Rally. Group 4 - Two Sponsored Entries to Ravens Rock Rally
    Round 4. 25th June 2017: Carrick on Suir Motor Club - Ravens Rock Rally. Group 3 - Two Sponsored Entries to Tipperary Stonethrowers Rally
    Round 5. 13th August, 2017: Tipperary Stonethrowers Rally. Group 7 - Two Sponsored Entries to Wexford Stages Rally
    Round 6. 9th & 10th September, 2017: Wexford Stages Rally. Group 5 - Two Sponsored Entries to Carrick Forestry 2018 (or first round of the 2018 Season)
The value of the sponsored entries will take the 'sting' of the unexpected insurance levy increase from those lucky enough win them while competing on the SUIRWAY GROUP South East Stages Rally Championship. (note 1** counting round of the Valvoline National Forestry Championship. note 2 ***counting round of the Triton Showers National Tarmac Championship and also the Plastic Bags Southern 4 Rally Championship.)


Posted: December 1, 2016 8:56 AM

Championship Rounds

Posted: December 1, 2016 8:55 AM

  1. Carrick-on-Suir Wm Loughman Forestry Rally - 12 Feb 17
  2. Tipperary Sean Conlon Memorial Forestry Rally - (Sat) 4 Mar 17
  3. Munster CC Moonraker Forestry Rally - (Sat) 8 Apr 17
  4. Carlow Stages Rally - 7 May 17
  5. Ravens Rock Stages Rally - 25 Jun 17
  6. Tipperary Stonethrowers Stages Rally - 13 Aug 17
  7. Wexford Stages Rally - 9-10 Sep 17

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed