rally.ie logo

2020 National Rally Championship - CANCELLED

Posted: May 19, 2020 4:22 PM - 3896 Hits

Triton Showers National Rally Championship 2020


Posted: May 19, 2020 4:22 PM

Due to the current situation regarding COVID-19, both the National Stages Rally Championship and the National Forestry Rally Championship are cancelled for 2020.

This decision has been taken as a result of several rounds of both championships being cancelled due to the restrictions which we now live under. Even though some events may run later this year, no event will hold National Championship status for 2020.

Motorsport Ireland would like to acknowledge the large amount of work put into both championships by the respective championship sub-commissions and the Rally Commission as a whole. Many of the rounds were fully organised and we thank the clubs for the huge effort that they have put into their events, hopefully some of them may run this year. We would also like to thank the championship sponsors for their continued support over many years, Triton for the National Stages Rally Championship and Valvoline for the National Forestry Rally Championship, along with many other associate sponsors.


Posted: March 11, 2020 10:05 AM

Championship Rounds (Revised)

Posted: March 2, 2020 2:10 PM

See below:

(Clare Dougie Hughes Memorial Clare Stages Rally - 13 Sep 20 is no longer a counting round, replaced by Galway Summer Rally - 30 Aug 20)

A Chat with Champions - Facebook Live - Wed 19 Feb @ 9:30pm

Posted: February 18, 2020 2:54 PM


Posted: December 14, 2019 12:17 PM

The Irish National Rally Championship received a major boost at its awards ceremony at the Sheraton Hotel in Athlone with the unexpected announcement that Triton Showers are to remain on as title sponsors for the popular series.

Making the surprise announcement, Kevin Barrett M.D. Triton Showers stated that they will continue their association with the national rally championship into 2020 marking a sixth consecutive season as title sponsor for the popular series.

“It was something that happened at the last minute really. We felt that we just couldn’t walk away and leave the championship without a sponsor. When Declan (Tumilty, chairperson of the national championship committee) informed me that there was no sponsor on-board for 2020, things took on a new dimension and it all happened very quickly. I set up a conference call with our people in Triton UK and gave them details of the package that we could go forward with and, in fairness, they went for it straight away. It all happened in about a week.” The announcement was greeted enthusiastically. “Yes the response was great but sometimes these things can be embarrassing to be honest as we were finished after the five years and we went to Bantry as our final event and carrying on next year wasn’t on the cards. But things change and we are delighted that it happened. I know that Declan (Tumilty) and the committee have some exciting ideas for 2020 and it would be a shame that these ideas wouldn’t be fulfilled. You need to introduce new ideas from time to time so we will keep pushing on.”

The awards ceremony completed the sports “drive for five” with Triton Showers during which time there were five different champions. In 2015, Donegal’s Donagh Kelly (Ford Focus WRC) won the series and was followed by Clonmel’s Roy White, Monaghan’s Sam Moffett, Donegal’s Declan Boyle and Monaghan Josh Moffett, all in Ford Fiesta WRC’s.

Chairperson of the Triton Showers National Rally Championship Committee Declan Tumilty remarked, “It’s great for the sport and the national championship itself that Triton Showers have decided to continue to underpin the series. I know that, as a competitor, Kevin has great belief in the national championship. The decision to continue as title sponsor is an endorsement of that belief. We are all looking forward to the start of the 2020 series in Mayo.”

“Fantastic” is how Angela Henehan, chairperson of the Motorsport Ireland Rallies Commission described the announcement. She added, “Kevin Barrett gives so much more to rallying besides the Triton Showers sponsorship. It is great to have him on-board again. Kevin is also very aware of the importance of all the competitors. Relatively speaking, it costs the competitors at the back of the entry as much as those at the top. Next year, we are going to be looking at how to reduce costs for the clubman competitors.”

The 2020 series will consist of seven rounds with the best six scores to count. The series will continue with it usual awards including The Motorsport Safety Team Group N award; the rally.ie two-wheel drive award; the Triton Showers Junior Championship, the National Mk. 2 Champions, the Group R, Historic and the Micky Farrell award.

The series will begin with the Mayo Rally in early March and will conclude with the Donegal Harvest Rally in October. There will be three rounds in Munster, two in Ulster and one each in Leinster and Connacht.

Championship Rounds (Revised)

Posted: December 14, 2019 12:13 PM

  1. Mayo Stages Rally - 8 Mar 20
  2. Circuit of Kerry Stages Rally - 5 Apr 20
  3. Carlow Stages Rally - 10 May 20
  4. Co Cavan Stages Rally - 24 May 20
  5. Tipperary Stonethrowers Rally - 9 Aug 20
  6. Galway Summer Rally - 30 Aug 20
  7. Donegal Harvest Stages Rally - (Sat) 10 Oct 20

    Vard National Rally Championship Awards - (Sat) 21 Nov 20

Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events