Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

Mayo Autocross (LS) - 22 Jul 18

Posted: January 20, 2019 3:33 PM - 996 Hits


Posted: January 20, 2019 3:33 PM

The third Mayo & District Motorsport Club Loose Surface Autocross for 2018 took place in the Valley on Sunday 22nd July. In keeping with previous events there was a great entry from far and near with competitors of all ages and all seven classes hotly contested.

The main battle of the day was in class 5, at the end of the first run there was 0.3 of a second separating the June Autocross winner Derek Mackarel and Michael Tynan; by the end of the second run Mackarel had shaved 14 seconds off his opening run with Tynan managing to better his opening time by 9 seconds but still short of Mackarel. The third and final run was an exciting one with Tynan storming home with the top time of 03.57.57; unfortunately after two great runs Mackarel was just short of the overall win and he was pipped at the post with the honours going to Tynan.

It is worth noting that earlier in the day the possibility of a start for Tynan looked unlikely when he broke a wishbone on the practice run, however with main rivals Derek and Andrew Mackarel coming to his aid and providing a spare wishbone Tynan was quickly back on winning form. Despite the drama on the track the camaraderie and support among motorsport competitors is to be greatly applauded.

Nearer to home, Belcarra’s Barry Cuffe took the honours for the fastest Mayo & District Club member of the day. In class 3, Mayo & District Club members dominated with Steven Cafferty, Patrick McEveney Jnr and Colm Connor taking the top three positions. In class 7, Niall Murphy took 1st place, finishing just ahead of first time competitor Ella Conway from Newport. Jenna McCann from Cavan took the award for the fastest female competitor of the day.

With the last Autocross event for 2018 scheduled for September, Michael Tynan is leading the ‘Frank Harrington Challenge’ with his closest rival being Andrew Mackarel. There is also the makings of an interesting battle between Steven Cafferty and Patrick McEveney Jnr for the ‘Mayo & District Young Driver Championship’. There is no doubt that the September event will be as exciting and challenging as the previous three events. For more information check out www.mayomotorsportclub.com


Posted: January 20, 2019 3:28 PM

1 Mickey Tynan (Buggy) 3m 57.57s,
2 Derek Mackarel (Berrisford) 4m 00.79s,
3 Eamonn Mimnagh (Buggy) 4m 02.31s,
4 Andy Mackarel (Berrisford) 4m 04.41s,
5 James McCann (Buggy) 4m 06.58s,
6 Paschal McGerney (Buggy) 4m 09.13s.

Class winners:
Glen Irwin 4m 17.68s,
Mervyn Galbraith 4m 15.57s,
Steven Cafferty 4m 27.01s,
Ronan Moore 4m 37.80s,
Derek Mackarel,
Jack Mannion 5m 01.47s,
Niall Murphy 5m 02.65s.

Club Website

Posted: July 17, 2018 4:56 AM

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed