Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

Laois Sprint - Mondello - (DATE CHANGE) - 30 Sep 12

Posted: October 4, 2012 9:13 AM - 3808 Hits

Laois Rallysport Club Sprint in Mondello Park on Sunday, 30th September 2012.


Posted: October 4, 2012 9:13 AM

Mondello Park played host to the last sprint of the year and the last blast before cars are stripped down to be got ready for the year ahead.

As drivers arrived to the circuit so did the rain. As drivers lined up for the practice run the track was very wet but showed signs of drying up for the later push.

Our new hill climb and sprint champion Sylvie Mullins was in fine form but the conditions did not help to get his big power down and Simon McKinley revelled in the conditions as did Paul O Connell who had not been out in a while due the birth of his baby daughter Kate Congrats to him and Ciara, but quickest out of the box was Michael Roche in his Dallara 391 but with conditions changing fast it was all up for grabs.

On the second run the track had dried out and McKinley was to draw 1st blood by going quickest from Mullins by nearly a second with Dermot Nolan in a fine 3rd showing he is getting to grips with his new car as long as there are no bales around.

Run 3 and Sylvie Mullins set the pace by going 3 seconds quicker than anyone a time that McKinley had no answer for, still 3rd was Dermot Nolan in his Reynard p319, 4th went to Joe Courtney in his Hornet, Paul O Connell grabed 5th in his Pilbeam, 6th went to Peter Dwyer in his Dallara F399-01, 7th was Michael Roche in his Dallara 319, 8th went to Adrian McCallion in his Normandale, 9th was Keith Hogg in his Shane and 10th was Richard Davis in his OMS.

Class 1 went to William Power in a mini, 2nd was PJ Doyle in his Peugeot 205 and 3rd was Garry Egan.

Class 2 went to Kieran Curran in his Vauxhall Corsa, 2nd was Eddie Peterson in a 106 and 3rd was Declan Nolan in a 106 gti.

With only two finishers in class 3a Simon Quinn took 1st in his Honda Civic and 2nd was Vincent Deery in his Vouxhall Nova.

Class 3b 1st went to Danny Calnan in his Ford Focus, 2nd was Denis Hogan Jnr in his BMW M3 and 3rd was Pat O Connell in his Evo.

One finisher in Class 4 taking the award was Pat Clarke in his Triumph TR7.

Class 6 was taken by Joe Courtney in his Hornet, 2nd was Adrian McCallion his in Normandale and taking 3rd was Richard Davis in his OMS.

Class 7 with Mullins McKinley and Nolan pulled out of the class for the overall awards 1st in class was Paul O Connell in his Pilbeam, 2nd was Peter Dwyer in his Dallara F399-01 and £rd was Michael Roche in his Dallara 319.

Class 8 went to Anthony Keating in his Ford Escort.

Class 9A went to Niall Brennan in hid Honda Civic, 2nd was John Kelly in a 106 GTI and 3rd was Edward Kelly in his 106 GTI.

Class 9 1st went to Patrick Delaney in a Sunbeam, 2nd was Seamus Hearey in a Honda Civic and 3rd went to Peter O Brien in a 205.

Class 10 had one finisher Michael Brutton in his Escort.

Class 10a 1st was Ian Gunning in his Escort, 2nd was Jack Deegan in a 205 and 3rd was Russell Dagg in his Escort.


Posted: October 3, 2012 12:01 PM

1 Sylvie Mullins (Gould GR37-Judd) 3m 11.4s,
2 Simon McKinley (Lant RT2 Warrior) 3m 14.8s,
3 Dermot Nolan (Reynard 913) 3m 26.4s,
4 Joe Courtney (OMS-Suzuki) 3m 28.1s,
5 Paul O’Connell (Pilbeam MP58 Hart) 3m28.3s,
6 Peter Dwyer (Dallara F399 Renault) 3m 29.5s,
7 Michael Roche (Dallara F301) 3m 32.9s,
8 Adrian McCallion (Normandale) 3m 35.6s,
9 Keith Hogg (Sheane Rover) 3m 45.6s,
10 Richard Davis (OMS-Yamaha) 3m 50.7s.

Class winners:
William Power (Mini) 4m 45.9s,
Kieran Curran (Corsa) 4m 10.9s,
Simon Quinn (Civic) 4m 07.2s,
Danny Calnan (Focus) 4m 05s, Matt Clarke (Triumph TR7) 5m 19.3s,
Joe Courtney,
Simon McKinley,
Anthony Keating (Escort) 4m 39.7s,
Patrick Delaney (Sunbeam) 4m 32.7s,
Niall Brennan (Civic) 4m 16.7s,
Michael Brutton (Escort) 4m 32.9s,
Ian Gunning (Escort) 4m 05s.

Laois Sprint in Mondello is set to go! / Entries will be taken on the day

Posted: September 28, 2012 8:13 PM

The Laois Rallysport Club Sprint in Mondello Park, Naas, Co Kildare is all set and ready to go. Despite the rumours being circulated, the Sprint was never in any doubt and was always going to run.

There are still places left, and entries will be taken on the day. If you have not entered and intend to take part, please ensure you are in Mondello before 7.30am to be sure your entry is processed and you get through scrutiny before the cut-off time of 9.00am.

A good days motorsport is assured and if we get to run on time we may get in an extra run or two.

Entries flying in and still being taken / Rally cars required for the Rally Classes.

Posted: September 26, 2012 9:19 PM

While the entries from the Hillclimb/Sprint fraternity are coming in strong, entries from Rally competitors for the classes for rally cars is very much on the slow side, despite the fantastic value on offer. This all-tarmac event is being run on the International track and each run will be 7 kilometres in length, enough to test any car or driver. After the initial practise run, there will be three timed runs, giving a total of 21 kilometres of some of the best tarmac and bends any competitor will encounter. As well as being a fantastic piece of tarmac to drive, the sprint also gives a fantastic opportunity for anyone wanting to give his or her car a shakedown before another event or to make sure everything is in working order before being put into cold storage for the winter.

Competition for overall honours is going to be a hotly contested affair, with this years National Champion, Sylvie Mullins, looking to seal his domination of this years Sprint season. But he will have a few more National Champions to contend with, as entries have also been received from Simon McKinley, Paul O’Connell and Michael Roche. An action packed day lies ahead, to be part of it download the Regs and entry form

Classes for all makes of Rally, Rallycross, Sprint and Race Cars. / All-tarmac event with each run 7km long.

Posted: September 18, 2012 11:51 AM

Laois Rallysport Club will hold their annual sprint this year in Mondello Park, Naas, Co Kildare. Their date, originally scheduled for 7th October, has been moved back by one week to Sunday, 30th September to facilitate the calendar of events in Mondello and promises to be a fitting finale to the sprint/race season. Using the full international track in an all-tarmac course, each timed run will consist of two laps to give 7km of a sprint to challenge any competitor and machine. The day will begin with a practise lap, followed by three timed runs to give one of the best value events in the calendar for an entry fee of just €140.

Given the excellent facilities at Mondello, apart from the actual track, all cars will have a service area on hard-standing along with an on-site restaurant, bar and toilets. In the class for Rally Cars, it is worth noting that the event is similar to a Rallysprint with the only difference being that no passengers, (or navigators) are permitted to be carried and the results are based on your fastest individual timed run, ie the best time of your three runs, unlike in a Rallysprint where the times for all runs are added together to give your result.

Regulations and entry form are now available.

Regulations / Club Website

Posted: September 18, 2012 11:47 AM

Topics: Sprint  Rallysprint 

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed