Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

2009 Billy Coleman Award

Posted: March 23, 2010 2:45 PM - 4845 Hits

Follow Billy Coleman Award Winner on Motorsport Ireland Website

Posted: March 23, 2010 2:45 PM

Motorsport Governing Body in Ireland (Motorsport Ireland) have introduced a new section to their website designated to the Billy Coleman Award Winner.
For the remainder of 2010 you now have the option to keep up to date with Craig Breen and his progress throughout the season.

You will find the section under the "Most Popular" heading and then click on "Billy Coleman Award"

Craig Breen - Young Rally Driver of the Year

Posted: November 9, 2009 12:30 PM

From a final list of three, Motorsport Ireland is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2009 Billy Coleman Award for the Young Rally Driver of the Year is Craig Breen.

Craig, from Kilmurry, County Waterford is just 19 years old and made his debut in Rallying in August 2007, having graduated from a successful career in Kart Racing.

The other two finalists were Jonathan Cunningham from Claregalway and Kevin O’Connor from Askeaton.

In winning four separate Rally championships in 2009 Craig has shown himself to be an outstanding talent in all respects.

The highlights of the year included winning the National Junior Rally Championship and finishing 3rd overall in the Birr Forestry Stages Rally, beating many 4 wheel drive turbo charged cars in the process.

Craig also clinched the International Fiesta ST Trophy at the final British round of the World Rally Championship on 25th October.

Craig’s ambition is to be the first ever Irish winner of the World Rally Championship. With the talent he has displayed this year who would bet against it?

The next step on this journey begins next season when he competes for the British Rally Championship. Craig will also take in a number of World Rally Championship events as a precursor to switching full time to the World Championship.

The Billy Coleman Award is presented annually to the most outstanding young Rally driver during the current year. The award consists of a support package for Rally competition in 2010 to the value of €50,000.

Funding for the award is provided jointly by Motorsport Ireland through its affiliated clubs and the Irish Sports Council.

The formal presentation of awards to the Champions of Irish Motorsport will take place at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Santry, Dublin at 12.30pm on Tuesday 8th December 2009.

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed