Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

2006 West Coast Rally Championship

Posted: November 24, 2006 1:48 PM - 10627 Hits

Top Part West Coast Rally Championship 2006

  • West Coast Rally Championship Prizegiving - (Sat) 20 Jan 07
  • Aaron Mc Hale is the Top Part West Coast Rally Champion for 2006
  • Championship Points after Final Round Round
  • 14 Years and Counting.
  • Championship Rounds

Posted: November 24, 2006 1:48 PM

Aaron Mc Hale and Enda Sherry are the Top Part West Coast Rally Champions For 2006
Aaron in his Sanyo/Tom Hogan Motors backed Ford Focus WRC won the title on the penultimate round the Clare Stages Rally. Enda Sherry won the Co Drivers title thanks to his 2nd Overall finish on the final round the Kerry Mini Stages Rally with fellow Monaghan Club man Adrian McElvaney.

Runner up spot in the Championship goes to Bio Tech owner Tadgh Lenihan in his Subaru N11 with Kerry s Sean Enright co driver to Mike Quinn taking 2 overall co driver.

Darragh Raftery who initially lead the series and held 2nd going into the final event slipped to 3rd due to non-starting the final event.

John Devine former Top Part Championship winning Co Driver takes 3rd.
Limericks Eamon Daly wins Group N.and Kerry s Mike Quinn is the Top 2 Wheel Drive Winner.

Class 1
1 David Quigley
Class 2
1 Liam Delaney Albert Dalton
2 Tom Gormolly Chris Crowe
Class 3
1 Pat Callanan Kenneth Shiel
2 Tom Curley Des Sherlock
3 Tom Cahill Michael doc Doherty
Class 4
1 Kevin Kelleher Martin Kelleher
2 N/A Mark Kane
Class 5
1 Mark Sheahan
Class 6
1 Emmet Callan David O Halloran
2 Niall Doherty Frank Curtin
3 Ian Roche Paul Roche
Class 7
1 John Corrigan Kieran Doherty
Class 8
1 Christy Carey Richard Talbot
2 Pat Kelly Martin Flynn
3 N/A Andrew Purcell
Class 9
1 Pat Ryan Derry Collins
2 Martin Sheehan Paddy Drake
Class 10
1 Kieran O Connell Gerard Buckley
2 Tom White Shane Mc Auliffe
3 Jerome Hennessy Martin Mulcahy
Class 11
1 Matthew Murphy Michelle Crowley
2 Phillip Conneely Donal Mullins
3 Kieran Bailey Barry O Donnell
Class 12
1 William Cavanagh Dorothy Cavanagh
2 Mike Walsh Ger Ryan
3 Liam Mulcaire Shane Meade
Class 13
1 Frank Sweeney Seamus O Connor
2 John Quinn Alice Quinn
3 Eamon Lee Peter Howley
Class 14
1 Sean Lyons Stephen O Connell
2 Pat Barry
3 Paddy O Rourke
Class 15
1 Thomas Fitzmaurice Keith McCarty
2 John Morris Declan Sylver
Class 16
1 Barry Meade Colin Fitzgerald
2 Patrick Cunningham Patrick Crotty
3 James Brett

Team Award
Power Of Dreams Motorsport
Tom Curley Paraic Callanan
Philip Conneely Michelle Crowley
Tom Cahill Des Sherlock

Aaron Mc Hale is the Top Part West Coast Rally Champion for 2006
The Popular Dublin Driver took his Sanyo/ Tom Hogan Motors backed Ford Focus WRC to victory in the series with one round still remaining the Kerry Mini Stages Rally.

Second and Third Places Overall along with Group N and the Overall Two Wheel Drive Winners will be decided on the final round being hosted by Kerry Motor Club on November the 12 th, Any of the drivers from 2nd to 10th places in the points table could still take the runner up spot, along with the coveted Group N and 2 wheel drive awards. The Overall Navigators awards are down to the wire with any one of the top eight in the table in the mix for the Top Places.

Barry Meade and Colin Fitzgerald are The Top Part Junior Champions for 2006 the Cork crew scored maximum points on the opening three rounds to take the Title for the second year.

Over half of the classes together with the Team Awards will be decided on the final round.
Daragh Rafferty takes the lead in the Top Part West Coast Rally Championship. After finishing 8th overall on Round 3 of the series the Circuit of Munster Stages Rally. The Galway driver is 10 points clear off the chasing pack on 52 points. Ray Breen who had lead the championship after the opening two rounds drops to second place, with Aaron McHale in third. Tadgh Linehan scored top points in Munster to move into forth place and take the Overall lead in Group N. Former Top Part Champion Sean Lyons is fifth and the leading 2 Wheel Drive competitor. Mike Quinn drops to sixth after a non-finish in Munster. Limericks Eamon Daly moves into 7th.Pat Callanan is 8th and the leader of class 3. In 9th is Thomas Fitzmaurice with John Quinn rounding off the top ten.

Andrew Purcell is the leading Co Driver after round 3.But the big movers are Mark Keane and Adrian Deasy who are tied for second thanks to 5th and 10th place results respectfully in Munster. Former Winner John Devine is 4th. With Kerry’s Sean Enright dropping to 5th. Kenneth Shiel moves into joint 6th.with Keith McCarthy. Alice Quinn takes 8th from Martin Brady in 9th with Seamus O Connor dropping to 10th.

Barry Meade and Colin Fitzgerald continue to lead the Junior Championship after round 3, The Cork crew are 12 points ahead of James Brett and Patrick Crotty who move into 2nd place, with Patrick Cunningham and Shane O Brien dropping to 3rd. Martin Horgan and Michael E O Connor are 4th followed by Richard Whelan and Patrick O Neill in 5th.

Ray Breen and Andrew Purcell lead the Top Part Rally Championship after the opening round the Birr And District Stages Rally. Based in Roscrea and Run by Birr and District Motor Club the season opener attracted a capacity entry for the eight-stage event The Kilkenny crew in their Ford Focus WRC scored a convincing victory to take the early lead in the 2006 series.

14 Years and Counting.
When the first car leaves the start ramp at the Birr and District Stages Rally in Roscrea on February the 26th 2006 The Top Part West Coast Rally Championship will enter its 14th year. Over that time the Championship has grown from strength to strength to become the leading regional rally championship in the country. The Top Part Group have been involved since the very beginning and we are delighted to have them onboard again for 2006. MD of the Top Part Group Donie Dillane has been a wonderful supporter of the series since 1993.On behalf of the Clubs and the Competitors we want to thank him and all at the Top Part Group for their support

Last years winner Alan Ring is expected to defend his title in 2006 along with runners up Noel Redmond and Niall Maguire. Group N Winner in 2005 Kevin O Donoghue can expect a strong challenge from the likes of Mike Curran, Willie Fannin, Tadgh Linehan, Kevin Kelliher just to mention a few,

Overall 2 Wheel Winners in 2005 Aidan Walsh / Jim Casey wont start the defence of their title until Round 2 but they can expect a stiff challenge for the remainder of the championship from some of the top 2 wheel drive competitors in the country.

The Junior Class in the Championship for 2006 will be expanded to include an Overall Winner as well as the class winners, which proved so popular last year.
  1. Birr Multi Stages Rally - 26 Feb 06
  2. Circuit of Kerry Stages Rally - 2 Apr 06
  3. Circuit of Munster (Limerick) - 4 Jun 06
  4. Galway Summer Stages Rally - 27 Aug 06
  5. Clare Stages Rally - 17 Sep 06
  6. Kerry Mini Stages Rally - 13 Nov 06
Best 4 scores to count from the 6 rounds with 1 starters point for each round. Competitors can register for the championship at paper scrutiny on the first event in Birr. The top 3 Overall and the top 3 in each class after Round 1 will qualify for priority on round 2,same applies after round 2 for Round 3 and so on throughout the year.

Twitter Feed