

RALLYRACC RALLY DE ESPAÑA FIA JUNIOR WORLD RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP (FOR DRIVERS)

21 OCT OBER – 24 OCT OBER 2010 ROUND 6 OF 6

	STATI	STICS
1.	Event Summary	4. Driver Championship Standings
2.	Driver Quotes	5. Next Round
3.	Results (Event)	

1. EVENT SUMMARY

Local hero Lemes claims maiden victory; Burkart makes history as last ever J-WRC Champion*

After one of the most unpredictable J-WRC showdowns ever, it was German pairing **Aaron Burkart** and his codriver Andre Kachel who, despite finishing in fourth place, drove their Suzuki Swift home to claim the 2010 FIA Junior World Rally Championship title^{*} on the final round of the Junior series at Rally de España. Meanwhile, local partnership **Yeray Lemes** (ESP, Renault) and Rogelio Peñate were jubilant to win their first ever J-WRC round on their home event after a clean and stylish drive, only interrupted by a puncture on SS13.

Having set consistently quick times throughout the season, Lemes took the lead from the opening stage of his home event, proving his form and pulling out a 44-second lead on Championship contender **Hans Weijs Jnr** (NLD, Citroën) on Day One.

But after three years in the J-WRC, Weijs wasn't about to give up without a fight when he had the Championship title within his grasp. Having got through the gravel stages of Day One, the young Dutchman felt more at home on the familiar tarmac stages that followed, which he'd expertly negotiated to comfortably win the Junior category in Spain last year.

Refusing to hold anything in reserve, Weijs attacked with such unwavering confidence that on SS8 and SS9 he clocked top 10 overall times in his 2WD Citroën. Hammering through the stages unperturbed, he grabbed 30 seconds back from leader Lemes to finish Day Two only 14 seconds off the pace and ready to push again on the final day.

Whilst powering through the first stage of Day Three, Weijs found himself suddenly promoted into the lead when Lemes got a puncture which cost the Spaniard over two and a half minutes. But in true rally style, the penultimate stage of the event threw up a new surprise when Weijs suffered a broken crankshaft sensor and sadly lost over ten minutes, falling to third behind Bulgarian driver **Todor Slavov** (Renault). A steady drive led to Slavov's second podium finish of the season and best J-WRC result to date, putting him third overall in



the 2010 J-WRC standings.

And after a scorching drive throughout the event, it was Weijs who completed the Junior podium, but his hopes of winning the 2010 J-WRC were shattered, as Burkart came home to take the title.

After holding a strong third throughout the first day, Burkart dropped down the order after losing the front right wheel on his Swift on SS7, the opening stage of Day Two. He restarted on the final day, drove confidently to pass both **Martin Kangur** (EST, Honda) and **Harry Hunt** (GBR, Ford) and finished in fourth place, putting him four points ahead of Weijs in the season standings. Burkart's record this season, however, was impressive. Having won the opening round in Turkey he led the J-WRC standings throughout the season, only temporarily falling behind **Kevin Abbring** (NLD, Renault) after Rally Bulgaria which was the German's non-nominated round. A fitting end to this track record was his much deserved Championship victory^{*} in Salou.

Newly crowned 2010 Rookie Classification Winner^{*} Hunt followed Burkart home in fifth, with 18-year old Estonian Kangur, driving the Honda Civic R3 on its J-WRC début, finishing in sixth, and winning SS16 en route, to complete the J-WRC line-up at the end of the event.

*Subject to the official publication of the results by the FIA

2. DRIVER QUOTES

1st – **YERAY LEMES (ESP):** "We are very happy to win the rally, because we were putting in the same times as Hans Weijs Junior who is very fast. This shows that we have a lot of potential for the future. This season we didn't have a lot of luck and we had problems on four rallies, but this rally was great for us. Okay we had one small problem, but our times were always good and we have won on our home event."

2nd – TODORSLAVOV (BLG): "It's very nice to come second. I finished in third position on my home rally in Bulgaria and it is an even better result. Here we came with aim of finishing fourth and now we are second! So this is the best possible result for us. It also gave us good championship points and meant that we came third overall, so I am very happy."

3rd – HANS WEIJS JNR (NLD): "I'm very sad not to win the Championship, but Aaron is a great driver and a good friend so I am course I am very happy for him. I can't believe I had this problem on the last stages – I couldn't do anything about it and I even fixed it but I lost too much time and by then it was too late."

2010 Junior World Rally Champion – Aaron Burkart (DEU): "I was on the edge of crying at the end of the last stage but I feel great! I feel sorry for Hans [Weijs] because he drove a good rally, but I have to be happy to be Junior World Rally Champion! It has been a crazy, crazy weekend, but a great one for me."

For more information visit www.wrc.com

2010 FIA JUNIOR World Rally Championship

÷.,

3. RESULTS (EVENT) * subject to scrutineering and routine fuel analysis							
POS	CAR#	DRIVER	CO-D RIVER	CAR	TIME	POINTS	
1	31	Yeray Lemes (ESP)	Rogelio Peñate (ESP)	Renault Clio S1600	3:55:58.0	25	
2	26	Todor Slavov (BGR)	Dobromir Filipov (BGR)	Renault Clio R3	+5:44.5	18	
3	23	Hans Weijs Jr. (NLD)	Bjorn Degant (BEL)	Citroën C2 S1600	+10:50.5	15	
4	21	Aaron Burkart (DEU)	André Kachel (DEU)	Suzuki Swift S1600	+28:45.1	12	
5	28	Harry Hunt (GBR)	Sebastian Marshall (GBR)	Ford Fiesta R2	+28:54.4	10	
6	30	Martin Kangur (EST)	Martin Järveoja (EST)	Honda Civic R3	+30:05.1	8	

.....

4. DRIVER CHAMPION SHIP STANDINGS 2010 FIA JUNIOR WORLD RALLY CHAMPION SHIP (FOR DRIVERS)

* subject to the official publication of the results by the FIA										
POS	CAR #	DRIVER	CAR	TRK	PRT	BGR	DEU	FRA	ESP	PTS
1	21	Aaron Burkart (DEU)	Suzuki Swift S1600	25	15	-	18	10	12	80
2	23	Hans Weijs Jnr (NLD)	Citroën C2 S1600	-	R	18	25	18	15	76
3	26	Todor Slavov (BGR)	Renault Clio R3	12	-	15	6	8	18	59
4	30	Karl Kruuda (EST)	Suzuki Swift S1600	8	18	10	15	-	-	51
5	22	Kevin Abbring (NLD)	Renault Clio R3	15	25	6	R	R	-	46
6	31	Yeray Lemes (ESP)	Renault Clio S1600	-	12	EXCL	8	R	25	45
7	29	Thierry Neuville (BEL)	Citröen C2 S1600	R	R	25	R	15	-	40
8	28	Harry Hunt (GBR)	Ford Fiesta R2	10	8	R	-	6	12	34
9	27	Alessandro Broccoli (SMR)	Renault Clio R3	18	R	12	-	R	-	30
10	G	Jérémi Ancian (FRA)	Suzuki Swift S1600	-	-	-	-	25	-	25
11	32	Mathieu Arzeno (FRA)	Citröen C2-R2	-	R	4	R	12	R	16
12	G	Christian Riedemann (DEU)	Ford Fiesta R2	-	-	-	12	-	-	12
13	30	Martin Kangur (EST)	Honda Civic R3	-	-	-	-	-	8	8
-	G	Climent Domingo (ESP)	Peugeot 206 S1600	-	-	-	-	-	R	0