Laois Rallysport Club

Laois Heartlands Mini Stages Rally 2017

REGULATIONS

Sunday 11th June 2017

Round 3

COLTON MOTORS MIDLANDS EAST RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP

Round 2
Laois Rallysport Club Championship

Rally HQ:

O'Loughlin's Hotel Main Street, Portlaoise

ORGANISED AND PROMOTED BY

Laois Motorsport Club Ltd

www.laoisrallysport.org

Organisation.

- (A) The Laois Heartlands Mini Stages Rally is promoted and organised by Laois Motorsport Club Ltd t/a Laois Rallysport Club (hereinafter called the promoters).
- (B) The Rally is a qualifying round of the **COLTON MOTORS Midlands East Rally Championship.**
- (C) The Rally will take place over a route of approx. 90 stage kilometres.
- (D) These regulations have been submitted to and approved by Motorsport Ireland and the necessary permit for holding of the competition has been granted.

 MI Permit Number: 17/081

Article 1.

The Competition will be held under the International Sporting Code of the F.I.A, the General Competition Rules of Motorsport Ireland and Appendices 25, 29 and 29.1 of the Motorsport Ireland Yearbook 2017 and these supplementary Regulations. All Competitors who forward completed Entry Forms agree to be bound by these rules.

Article 2.

- (A) The Supplementary Regulations for the Rally are as stated by the Motorsport Ireland Regulations and definitions Motorsport Ireland Year Book 2017. Copies of the book can be obtained from Motorsport Ireland, Competitions Department, 34 Dawson Street, Dublin 2.
- (B) Final Instructions will form an integral part of the Supplementary Regulations.

Article 3.

- (A) Entries open on the publication of these regulations
- **(B)** All completed entry forms must be sent to the EVENT Secretary with the appropriate fee:

EVENT Secretary, Kate Scott, Bridge Meadow Farm Cappagh North, Portlaoise, Co. Laois, R32vc57

Phone: 0867577613 **email:** katec@lightstream.ie

(C) Entry Fee: €412 + €188 insurance levy= total €595, including Personal Accident Insurance and Standard IRDS Insurance. Cheques may only be post-dated to the 8th June 2017

- (D) All drivers must be registered with the IRDS/BRDS Insurance Scheme.
- **(E)** The Club reserves the right to refuse an entry without assigning a reason. Closing Date for entries is on Wednesday 7th June 2017

Article 4.

- (A) Pace notes will be available for sale from Third Parties. The club has no involvement with their preparation or sale and accepts no responsibility for their accuracy or otherwise.
- **(B)** Entries are confined to 131. Should more than 131 fully paid up entries be received, entries will be allocated as follows:
 - (a) Priorities in COLTON MOTORS Midlands East Rally Championship, as per Championship Regulations.
 - (b) Previous Entrants.
 - (c) Ten at organiser's discretion.
 - (d) The remainder will be drawn on a ballot.

TIMETABLE (Subject to Change)

Entries Open: Wednesday 3rd May 2017

Entries Close: Wednesday 7th June

Final Instructions Posted: Thursday 8th June.

Entry List Published: Thursday 8th June.

Saturday 10th June

09:00am to 12:30pm Recce Sign-On at Rally HQ.

09:30am to 16:00pm Recce, maximum 3 runs per stage.

(Penalty of exclusion for exceeding this number).

14:00pm to 18:30 Mechanical scrutiny at Plaza Laois County Hall.

15.00pm to 18:30 Paper Scrutiny at Rally HQ.

19:30 Ceremonial Start Portlaoise Town Centre – top 50 Cars compulsory attendance.

Sunday 11 th June

8.30am Competitors Safety Briefing in Rally HQ (Compulsory for all crews).

9.50am First Car Away.

16:00 pm First Car Finishes.

Full Provisional Results no later than 17:30pm.

Final Results half hour later if no queries.

Prizegiving will take place no later than 30 Minutes after final results.

LIST OF OFFICIALS

Clerk of the Course:

Deputy Clerk of the Course:

Assistant Clerk of the Course:

Sean McEvoy
Louis Garry
Eoin Longworth

Stage Commanders: SS1 Ray Dunne, SS2 Eoin Langton Deputy Stage Commanders: SS1 Padraig Gorman, SS2 Paddy

Nolan

Motorsport Ireland Stewards: Conor Crowley Kevin O Riordan

Motorsport Ireland Safety Officer:

Club Safety Officer:

Club Steward:

Event Secretary:

Chief Medical Officer:

Chief Marshall:

Dermot Healy

John Fogarty

Kieran Reid

Kate Scott

Dr. Gerry White

Benny Dowling

Chief Scrutineer:

Radio Controller:

Press Officer:

Results Officer:

Competitor Liaison Officer:

Car Accountability:

Sean Cahill

Mary Fitzgerald

Emma Brennan

Angus Sealy

Liam Hayes

Ian O Brien

Equipment Officer: Joe Moffitt
Chief Rescue Officer: Athlone Rally Rescue

Road Closed: Pierce Doheny Chief Time Keeper: David Walshe Service Area Manager: Tom Scott

CLASSES

APPENDIX 29.1 - CLASSES FOR ALL MINI AND SINGLE STAGE RALLIES:

Class 1 Group N up to 1600 cc (Previously N1 & N2); R1 (atmospheric up to 1600 cc - VR1A/VR1B and turbo up to 1067 cc - VR1A/VR1B)

Class 2 Group A up to 1600 cc (Previously A5 & A6); R2 (atmospheric over 1390 to 1600 cc - VR2B and turbo over 927 to 1067 cc - VR2B); Kit cars up to 1600 cc; Group N 1601 to 2000 cc (Previously N3) Class 3 Group A 1601 to 2000 cc (Previously A7); R2 (atmospheric over 1600 to 2000cc - VR2C and turbo over 1067 to 1333cc - VR2C); R3 (atmospheric over 1600 to 2000 cc - VR3C and turbo over 1067 to 1333cc - VR3C); R3 (Turbo up to 1620 cc nominal - VR3T); R3 (Diesel up to 2000 cc nominal - VR3D); Super 1600 cars

Class 4 Group N over 2000 cc (N4 FIA Appendix J 254)

Class 5 Group R4 (Appendix J 260); S2000 Rally (2.0 Atmospheric)

Class 6 All cars homologated in FIA R-GT

Class 7 Group A over 2000 cc (Previously A8) (EXCLUDING WRC (1.6T); WRC (2.0T); S2000 Rally 1.6T 28 mm Restrictor (also known as Regional Rally Car - RRC))

Class 9	Modified cars up to 1450 cc, 2 wheel drive
Class 10	Modified cars 1451 to 1650 cc, not more than 2 valves per cylinder, 2 wheel drive
Class 11F	Modified FWD cars 1451 to 1650 cc, more than 2 valves per cylinder
Class 11R	Modified RWD cars 1451 to 1650 cc, more than 2 valves per cylinder
Class 12	Modified cars 1651 to 2100 cc, not more than 2 valves per cylinder, 2 wheel drive
Class 13	Modified cars 1651 to 2100 cc, more than 2 valves per cylinder, 2 wheel drive
Class 14	Modified cars 2101 to 3500 cc, 2 wheel drive. (Max 2 valves per cylinder over 3000 cc)
Class 15	Four-wheel drive cars whose homologation has expired. See notes 3 & 5
Class 16	Juniors (see Appendix 29.1, Article 21)
Class 17	Historics up to 1600 cc (see Appendix 29.1, Article 18.2)
Class 18	Historics over 1600 cc (see Appendix 29.1, Article 18.2)
Class 19	Historics – FIA Appendix K
Class 20	Modified 4 Wheel Drive Cars (4WD) See note 16 on classes

For further details on requirements for cars in classes 1 – 7 refer to www.fia.com Appendix J articles 252 – 261 (Article 260 refers to cars in Group R)

Notes on Classes -see appendix '29' of Motorsport Ireland 2017 Yearbook.

AWARDS

Overalls 1st, 2nd & 3rd overall - 2 trophies per crew.

Classes 1st, 2nd & 3rd - 2 trophies per crew.

Other Awards.

Please note your eligibility on your entry form.

Best Ladies Crew.

1st. 2nd & 3rd Laois Rallysport Club Crews, regardless of class finish positions, both crew to be club members.

1st Overall Toyota Corolla AE86 Twincam crew. Car to be exactly as originally manufactured, with the 1.6 4 A-GE engine. Safety features allowed.

Other awards at Club's discretion.

The onus is on competitors to ensure that they are entered for the appropriate awards.