Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

South East Stages Championship - Pre Wexford

Posted: September 7, 1999 7:25 AM - 11261 Hits

Joseph J O'Brien writes
Our thanks to TRITON SHOWERS and Kevin Barrett once again for sponsoring this years championship.

Round six. Wexford Stages Rally Talbot Hotel, Wexford.

Posted: September 7, 1999 7:25 AM

  • Classes:
      Class 1, up to 1400cc; Class 2, 1401 - 1700 cc; Class 3, 1701 - 2100 cc; Class 4, 2101 - 3500cc; Class 5, all 4x4 and turbo charged engine cars.

  • Championship story to date.

    The end of another championship year and once again this championship is going to the wire----- The TRITON SHOWERS sponsored South East Stages Rally Championship is accelerating to another climaxing finish. Two days of serious competition ahead before the new champion is crowned.

    Current championship leaders Dermot Kelly / G Shinnors, Escort Cos’ Class 5 are not entered this weekend as they are sitting on 57 pts. from a possible maximum of 60. An envious position, no doubt, as two days of intense rallying lie ahead of his challengers.

    Sure it’s the last round of this years TRITON SHOWERS South East Stages Rally Championship but it’s also the Triple Crown of rallying with competitors from Ireland, Wales and England vieing to uphold national honours. For some it’s decision time, Championship points or glory in the class or overall positions. We await the results !!!!.

    Best placed challengers and perhaps the only crew to snatch the laurels are the Kilkenny paring of John Tracey / John Smithwick in the class 3, MK 2 Escort. John has also been hailed as the ‘find’ of this years Vard national rally championship.. His three rounds to date have been class wins but he needs to win again this weekend to take the championship.

    Third placed are Jimmy Lambert / James Coleman in the New Suirway Forklifts, class 2 MK 2 Escort. They have competed on 6 rounds to date and are improving all the time . Jimmy has returned to rallying after a lay off whilst James is in his first year and is improving on the ‘notes’ by the event. Their total of 44 points can improve to a maximum of 54 but they have to win the class and beat the Foleys.

    Speaking of whom, last years championship winners the Foleys are in fourth place and every tarmac round has been a battle with the Lambert / Coleman crew, this one will be no exception. Expect fireworks!!!!

    Remember that this is a dual surface rally championship. Some crews only compete in forestry rallies. The current class positions are therefore slightly misleading, also championship points awarded depend on the number of entries in each class. Four must start in a class to permit the maximum award of 15 points.

    Class 1. M. Moore / M. Cuddihy, Corsa (4) and G. McLoughlin / K. Hynes, Escort (3) are tied on 35 pts. but are not entered this weekend. Third placed Keith Colton / J. McCann, Ka, (3) 34 pts. are, and are showing up some of the more modified class 1 cars.

    Class 2. James / Ann Foley, Honda (3) 42 pts. have the hold on this class. The ever consistent Mike Nevin / A. Roe, Escort (5) 41pts is second, followed by Derek Brennan / J. Rafter, Escort on 34 pts.

    Class 3. Current leaders are Niall Driver / F. Corrigan, Escort (3) 36 pts. have also scored points in classes 4 ans 5!!!!!. Local crew Thomas / John O’Rourke, Astra (5) 33 pts. should take over as class winners barring a mishap. Third are Kieran Molloy / B. Boland, Astra (3) 36 pts.

    Class 4. Still not enough contenders in this class for crews to score maximum points. Pat / Ian Laracy, Ascona (3) are leading with 29 pts. from Derek Smith / D. Cafferty, Escort (2) 24 pts. The ever young Tony Clery / H. O’Dwyer Kadette (2) have 18 pts.

    Class 5. Another class to suffer from insufficient registered crews. John McGaffin / N. Russel, Escort Cos’ (3) 31 Pts. have a one point lead from R. Curran / S. Fitzpatrick, Sierra Cos’ (5) 30pts. David Armstrong / H. Blackburn, Escort Cos’ (2) 27 pts. None of th eabove are competing this weekend and with only two crews entered, the positions look final at the moment.

    NOTE.(*) figure in brackets denotes rounds contested

    Awards night is Saturday 6th. November and as the Carlow Motor Club are this years hosts book your tickets and rooms at the Springhill Hotel, Kilkenny. See you there.

    The 2000 championship starts with The Birr and District forestry rally on 14th.November 1999. It will be a seven round championship, three forestry, four tarmac. If you’re not competing your help is needed to run the events.

    As ever the position of press officer for the championship is vacant. Ability to have reports typed etc and enthusiasm will get you the job.
    Contact A. M. Fitzgerald
    Tel: 051 895238.

  • Twitter Feed