Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

Cork Autocross (LS) - (Tue) 27 Dec 16

Posted: January 1, 2017 5:36 PM - 2645 Hits

@ Cronin's Quarry, Ladysbridge, Co. Cork
Counting Round - 2016 Munster Autocross Championship


Posted: December 27, 2016 4:01 PM

O'Driscoll win forces Munster Autocross down to the wire.

Posted: December 21, 2016 8:34 AM

There was excitement galore at the recent Limerick autocross, the penultimate round of the O' Shea Bus Hire Munster Autocross Championhip. Paul O Driscoll (Semog Buggy)from Clonakilty scored his first autocross win and forced the Autocross Championship down to the wire at the last round in Cork on December 27th.

O'Driscoll was fastest on the first timed run with a time of 1.47.58 ahead of Whitby Moynan (Toyota Special) and Sean Cahill (JB Buggy). Cahill has already won the national loose championship and is O' Driscoll's nemesis for the Munster crown. On the second run, Cahill set the fastest time of 1.45.49 with O' Driscoll second ahead of Moynan. On the third run Cahill retired with transmission problems but he still led as O' Driscoll's best time was just slightly slower. Moynan slipped to fourth when fellow Nenagh driver Lionel Percy (Honda Special) got up to third. However on the fourth and final run O' Driscoll pulled out all the stops with a brilliant time of 1.44.13-fastest time of the day and winner of the Limerick autocross. Cahill was second while Percy held his place on the podium ahead of Moynan. Fermoy based Pole Lukasz Czapnik (Impreza) was once again fastest saloon ahead of Eddie Walsh (Impreza) and Ian Horgan(Corsa).

O' Driscoll now leads the championship table with 125 points from eight races including one win. Cahill has 116 points from 6 races including four wins.However competitors can only use their 7 (out of 9) best scores, which means the mathematics favour Cahill. If O' Driscoll wins in Cork, eight points for Cahill will suffice to deny the Corkman and enable the Wexford man to claim the unique double.

Five of the classes have been decided as follows:

Class1. William Meade (Nova), Class2 (205), Class 3 David Devane (Sunny),Juniors Ian Horgan (Corsa) and Ladies Mary O'Shea (205).

Class 4 is yet to be decided between Championship sponsor Ger O' Shea and Ger O' Connell (Celica). Like wise the Subaru's of Lukacz Czapnik and Eddie Walsh will battle out for class 5 honours. There is a three way tie in class 6 between the specials of Lionel Percy, Declan O Regan and Anthony O Halloran. Nenagh drivers Whitby Moynan and Richard Percy will fight for the rights of class.

However all eyes and ears will be on O'Driscoll and Cahill. As ever it wont be over until the fat lady sings.

The Cork Autocross will be held at Cronin?s Quarry Ightermurragh, Ladysbridge, Co Cork. Further details at corkmotorclub.com

Two further autocross dates for your diary. Wednesday 11 January, the MAC annual general meeting will take place at 8pm in the Roundabout Tavern in Mallow where arrangements for the 2017 championship will be finalised.

As in 2014 and 2015, the National Autocross and Munster Autocross Championships have again joined forces to hold the 'Autocross Night of Champions' at which this years prizes will be presented. It takes place on Saturday, 21 January 2017 in the Oak Wood Hotel, Shannon. Contact for tickets 087 6595752. Give the hotel a ring on 061 361 500 to secure your accommodation, but be quick - it's filling fast! And be sure to mention the autocross night for special rate.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all in the Munster Autocross, particularly those who helped run the events in 2016, the competitors and those who helped me in writing the autocross reports.

Regulations / Entry Form (Rev 2)

Posted: November 24, 2016 6:53 AM

Club Website / Details

Posted: November 24, 2016 6:51 AM

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed