Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

Kildare Rallycross @ Mondello - 27 Nov 16

Posted: November 29, 2016 3:04 AM - 2384 Hits

Counting Round - 2016 Irish Rallycross Championship

Photo: Mark Ashby

In Car

Posted: November 29, 2016 3:04 AM

Mick Lonergan (Honda Civic) Heat 3

Tohill secures Irish Rallycross Championship title

Posted: November 28, 2016 10:21 AM

Double FIA European Rallycross Champion Derek Tohill dominated the final round of the 2016 Irish Rallycross Championship at Mondello Park near Dublin (November 27) to secure his first overall Irish crown.

Driving the PFCRX 600bhp Ford Fiesta Supercar, Tohill headed into the final round knowing a maximum score would be enough to etch his name on the prestigious IRX trophy, and a faultless performance from team, driver and car secured event-victory and the championship.

Having raced on each rung of the ladder in Irish Rallycross, former Stock Hatch Champion and Modified race-winner Tohill joins Irish legends Kenny McKinstry, Dermot Carnegie and others on the list of IRX winners.

The PFCRX team also used the Mondello event as the final opportunity of the year to continue working on car setups and procedures in preparation for the 2017 FIA European Rallycross Championship, which gets underway next spring in Barcelona, following the squad's maiden season with the OlsbergsMSE Supercar in 2016 which resulted in a number of semi-final appearances.

Derek Tohill | Driver | Ford Fiesta #111

"I'm absolutely delighted to get the monkey off my back and win the Irish Rallycross Championship for the first time, something I have been trying to achieve for years! It felt incredibly difficult as I haven't raced in full championships at home since my Stock Hatch days finished in 2007. The last two events this year have been tough, I spent every lap listening to every little sound from the car, which brings its own challenges.

The car has been incredibly reliable all year, so as a driver I had a relatively easy task of staying out of trouble, keeping her between the ditches and bringing it home this weekend.

The team has done an amazing job all year to give the car (Molly) so much love, care and attention, down to the finest details. It was a very tough year with team members losing loved ones but what doesn't kill you makes you stronger, and we are a solid group who achieve everything together. None of this would be possible without each member of the PFCRX team.

We have lots of development planned over the winter now. I love driving at home in Ireland and I love driving this Supercar, but now we're looking forward to digging deep with the plan of moving from the semi-finals to the finals in Euro RX 2017.

I must say a huge thanks to my family, team, sponsors, partners, organisers and the media. It's time to recharge the batteries and rebuild for next season!"


Posted: November 28, 2016 5:22 AM

1 Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta Mk 7) 3m 51.31s,
2 Noel Greene (Mitsubishi Mirage) 4m 05.86s,
3 Willie Coyne (Opel Corsa) 4m 06.35s,
4 Patrick Ryan (Vauxhall Nova) 4m 08.59s,
5 Lloyd Spendlove (Lotus Exige) 4m 11.02s,
6 Kieran Curran (Vauxhall Corsa) 4m 12.87s.

1 Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta Mk 7) 3m 21.34s,
2 Noel Greene (Mitsubishi Mirage) 3m 33.82s,
3 Willie Farrell (Subaru Impreza) 3m 43.27s,
4 Brian Keegan (Subaru Impreza) 4m 08.45s.

1 Willie Coyne (Opel Corsa) 3m 32.00s,
2 Patrick Ryan (Vauxhall Nova) 3m 34.94s,
3 Kieran Curran (Vauxhall Corsa) 3m 37.69s,
4 Pearse Browne (BMW Compact) 3m 40.62s,
5 Lloyd Spendlove (Lotus Exige) 3m 41.81s,
6 Chris Grimes (Vauxhall Nova) 3m 46.52s.

1 George Tohill (BMW Compact) 3m 48.31s,
2 Phil Chicken (Citroen C2 S1600) 3m 49.16s,
3 Andrew Morris (Subaru Impreza) 3m 51.01s,
4 Darragh Morris (VW Golf VR6) 3m 57.70s,
5 Frank O'Connell (Ford Fiesta) 3m 57.97s.

1 John Ward (Peugeot 106) 3m 45.41s,
2 Derek Lenehan (Citroen Saxo) 3m 49.20s,
3 John Dowling (Citroen Saxo) 3m 52.20s,
4 Paul Nolan (Peugeot 106) 3m 52.51s,
5 Eric Sloan (Peugeot 106) 4m 08.98s.

1 Ciaran Murphy (Peugeot 205) 3m 55.75s,
2 Adrian Farrell (Peugeot 205) 3m 59.73s,
3 James O'Shea (Citroen Saxo) 4m 00.27s,
4 Damian Farrell (Peugeot 205) 4m 02.14s,
5 Vincent O'Rourke (Ford Fiesta) 4m 17.46s.

1 Shane Duggan (Nissan Micra) 4m 03.85s,
2 Ben Mullins (Nissan Micra) 4m 11.30s,
3 Shane Loftus (Nissan Micra) 4m 14.39s,
4 Christopher Grimes Jnr (Toyota Starlet) 4m 15.54s.

1 Dan McDonnell 3m 56.70s,
2 James Deane 3m 57.44s,
3 Dave Egan 4m 00.66s,
4 Peter Campbell 4m 01.99s,
5 Ronan McDonnell 4m 07.33s,
6 Glenn Montgomery 4m 08.36s.

1 Terry McKay 3m 18.05s,
2 Ronan Mackle 3m 18.34s,
3 Martin McAteer 3m 25.65s,
4 Brian O'Donnell 3m 39.46s,
5 Aidan Devlin 3m 41.27s.

1 Patrick Donoghue (Peugeot 205) 3m 37.14s,
2 Mick Lonergan (Honda Civic) 3m 37.89s,
3 Eddie Peterson (Honda Civic) 3m 38.12s,
4 Padraig Denby (Peugeot 106) 3m 44.59s,
5 Jason Keogh (Peugeot 205) 3m 51.58s,
6 P J Doyle (Peugeot 205) 3m 53.60s.

1 William Cecil (Peugeot 205) 3m 54.79s,
2 P J Doyle (Peugeot 205) 3m 56.78s,
3 Peter O'Brien (Peugeot 205) 3m 58.08s.

Entry Form / Regulations / Details

Posted: November 10, 2016 6:46 AM

Available at:

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed