Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

Carlow Rallycross @ Mondello - 1 Nov 15

Posted: November 23, 2016 9:54 AM - 2794 Hits

Counting Round - 2015 Irish Rallycross Championship

Tohill claims maiden Supercar victory at Mondello Park

Posted: November 23, 2016 9:54 AM

Irish rallycross driver Derek Tohill claimed his first ever Supercar victory at Mondello Park, Ireland (November 1) while making his debut in an Olsbergs MSE built Ford Fiesta Supercar.

Tohill won both the Supercar final and Superfinal in the penultimate round of the Irish Rallycross Championship at Mondello Park and now lies third overall in the championship standings, having already scored points in the series this season in his Fiesta TouringCar. The double FIA European Rallycross TouringCar Champion was unbeaten throughout the heats and led home Thomas O'Rafferty (Ford Fiesta) and Noel Greene (Mitsubishi Evo) in the Supercar final by over ten seconds, before beating O'Rafferty and Willie Coyne (Vauxhall Corsa) in the Superfinal to take maximum points from the event.

Along with scoring points towards the Irish title, the final two rounds of the IRX are being used as preparation for the PFCRX team ahead of a full campaign in the FIA European Rallycross Championship in 2016. The freshly rebuilt Fiesta ran faultlessly throughout the day, allowing former World Rallycross driver Tohill to get to grips with the new car. The final round of the Irish Rallycross Championship also takes place at Mondello Park on November 22, where Tohill will again be in action.

In the last few days, the calendar for the 2016 FIA European Rallycross Championship has been revealed. Taking place at five rounds of the FIA World Rallycross Championship, Euro RX will begin at Mettet in Belgium (May 14-15), before heading to Hell in Norway (June 28-29), Holjes in Sweden (July 2-3), Barcelona in Spain (17-18 September) and concluding at a brand new event at Riga in Latvia (October 1-2). The full calendar is listed below.

Derek Tohill | Driver | Ford Fiesta #11

"What a day. In the four heats we took four fastest times, then won both of the finals. The car ran like clockwork, we had no issues at all and it's wonderful to drive. It's really special to win my first event in Supercar at home at Mondello.

"We had a busy night on Saturday getting everything ready, but that was made much easier by the support of Ross from Mountune and the Olsbergs MSE team for their guidance. This is a really great car.

"Thanks to all of the PFCRX guys for their hard work, but especially Gordy for driving the truck back from Sweden after our test at Strangnas on Monday in time for us to make the final preparations on Saturday. We're working really well as a team, as I knew we would, and this kind of result makes me even more excited for the European Championship next year.

"The Euro RX line up of events for next year is fantastic. The highlight for us will definitely be Sweden. Holjes is the holy grail of rallycross, and we've been fortunate enough to taste victory there before in TouringCar. We're also excited about the new event in Latvia, that looks like it will be very special next October."


Posted: November 23, 2016 9:50 AM

1 Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta Mk 7) 3m 13.10s,
2 Thomas O'Rafferty (Ford Fiesta) 3m 28.85s,
3 Willie Coyne (Opel Corsa) 3m 29.87s,
4 Lloyd Spendlove (Lotus Exige) 3m 34.40s,
5 Patrick Ryan (Vauxhall Nova) 3m 34.78s,
6 George Tohill (BMW Compact) 3m 40.73s.

1 Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta Mk 7) 2m 41.29s,
2 Thomas O'Rafferty (Ford Fiesta) 2m 52.47s,
3 Noel Greene (Lancer Evo 9) 2m 53.11s.

1 Willie Coyne (Opel Corsa) 2m 51.25s,
2 Patrick Ryan (Vauxhall Nova) 2m 55.03s,
3 Lloyd Spendlove (Lotus Exige) 2m 58.22s,
4 George Tohill (BMW Compact) 2m 58.53s,
5 Philip Kelly (Toyota MR2) 3m 03.44s,
6 Gordon Lynch (BMW E46) 3m 04.80s.

1 Philip Kelly (Toyota MR2) 3m 06.54s,
2 Gordon Lynch (BMW E46) 3m 07.38s,
3 Joe Cahill (Rover Mini) 3m 21.00s,
4 Oliver Kelly (Peugeot 205) 3m 40.09s.

1 Derek Lenehan (Peugeot 106) 3m 02.24s,
2 John Ward (Peugeot 106) 3m 02.83s,
3 Eugene Ward (Peugeot 106) 3m 06.22s,
4 Keith Kerrshaawe (Citroen C2) 3m 11.95s.

1 Dan Dowling (Peugeot 205) 3m 09.92s,
2 Peter McGarry (Peugeot 205) 3m 10.99s,
3 Ciaran Murphy (Peugeot 205) 3m 11.40s,
4 Damian Farrell (Peugeot 205) 3m 12.20s,
5 Adrian Farrell (Peugeot 106) 3m 13.64s,
6 James O'Shea (Peugeot 205) 3m 15.44s.

1 Brian Martyn (Nissan Micra) 3m 19.75s,
2 William Kellett (Nissan Micra) 3m 35.89s,
3 Ben Mullins (Nissan Micra) 3m 42.91s.

1 Jack Newman (Ford Escort) 2m 54.07s,
2 Patrick Donoghue (Peugeot 205) 2m 56.33s,
3 Mark Hayden (Ford Escort) 3m 04.16s,
4 Padraig Denby (Peugeot 106) 3m 06.54s,
5 Shane Hade (Toyota Corolla) 3m 08.09s,
6 William Cecil (Peugeot 205) 3m 09.52s.

1 Jack Deegan (Peugeot 205) 3m 03.48s,
2 Dave Griffin (Ford Escort) 3m 16.44s,
3 Peter O'Brien (Peugeot 205) 3m 18.73s,
4 P J Doyle (Peugeot 205) 3m 24.52s.

1 Peter Campbell 3m 10.91s,
2 Patrick Bateman 3m 13.56s,
3 Philip Lawless 3m 15.46s,
4 Roy Tobin 3m 16.26s,
5 Brian McCormack 3m 17.89s,
6 Bill Griffin 3m 19.69s.

1 Bill Griffin 3m 21.45s,
2 Vincent O'Rourke 3m 29.32s,
3 Nicole Drought 3m 59.23s.

Derek Tohill to debut Ford Fiesta Supercar

Posted: October 28, 2015 5:09 PM

Regulations / Details

Posted: October 22, 2015 9:17 AM

Available at:

Club Website:

Classified Ads

 Add a Classified

 All Classifieds

Twitter Feed