Border Rally Championship Prizegiving 2013 - (Sat) 2 Nov 13

Posted: January 29, 2014 3:07 PM - 2819 Hits

Photo: James Burke

Kiernan/Tierney Crowned Sligo Pallets Border Champions

Posted: January 29, 2014 3:07 PM

The 2013 Sligo Pallets Border Rally Championship concluded with the annual prizegiving in the Sligo Park Hotel on Saturday 2nd November. Over 200 people were in attendance to see Gary Kiernan & Niall Tierney claim the overall trophy for the first time. This was a tremendous success for this young crew, as Gary has only been rallying for three years and 2013 was Niall’s first year competing. Gary paid tribute to the team at CMC motorsport for looking after the car all year as well as all those who helped make the championship such a success. Dermot O’Hagan/Pierce Doheny Jnr and Arthur Kierans/Mac Kierans were also on hand to receive their awards for 2nd and 3rd place overall respectively.

The Danny Caddye Perpetual Award, which was introduced last year for the pride of the Border Championship, was fittingly awarded to the late Paddy Kiernan. The younger of the Kiernan brothers lit up the championship and clinched the ‘Drive of the Day’ award in Cavan before his passing in the summer following a road traffic accident. Mr & Mrs Kiernan received the award on Paddy’s behalf, which included action photos of Paddy competing in the 2013 Championship and signed by none other than WRC star Jarri-Matti Latvala. Big thanks for making this happen go to James Burke who provided the photos and Killian Duffy, who took them to Spain for Jarri-Matti’s signature.

Over €1500 was raised on the night for Suicide Awareness, boosted by the impromptu auctioneering of a rally jacket which contributed €250! Indeed there was plenty of spot prizes for attendees with over 50 different prizes to be won. A big thanks to Andrew Mullen & Elaine Doherty for organising such an excellent array of prizes. In addition to the awards received on the night, class winners also received prizes which included discounts off entry fees, free accommodation and fee meals for two in various rally HQs. The party continued on into the night as the story of the ups and downs in the championship was re-told.

Sligo Pallets will continue to support the series in 2014, with Mayo hosting the opening round in March. Gary Kiernan & Niall Tierney will be back to defend their Border crown next year, which is sure to be another terrific season of competition.

Poster / Details

Posted: October 17, 2013 10:57 PM

Twitter Feed