Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

Grizedale Stages Rally - (Sat) 30 Nov 13

Posted: January 29, 2014 5:47 PM - 4088 Hits


Posted: January 29, 2014 5:47 PM

As the latest model in M-Sport’s successful range of Ford Fiesta rally cars, the Ford Fiesta R5+ got off to a sensational start at the Coppermines Grizedale Stages in the United Kingdom last weekend. With Matthew Wilson and co-driver Chris Patterson behind the wheel, the car could not have had a better debut – securing victory by almost a minute.

Based on the standard Ford Fiesta R5 which launched earlier this year, the Fiesta R5+ incorporates a modified turbo and air-intake system. The standard 32mm restrictor has also been replaced with a 34mm example which provides the engine with an extra 30hp. Not homologated for FIA championships, the Fiesta R5+ is intended for national series.

Also in action last weekend was Elfyn Evans with the Ford Fiesta R200. Acting as course car on the Coppermines Grizedale Stages, Evans was joined by M-Sport’s Customer Liaison Manager, Richard Millener, in the co-driver’s seat. Had the pairing contested the rally proper, they would have placed an impressive fifth overall – ahead of a number of world rally specification cars and just 21 seconds adrift of the podium.

As with the Fiesta R5+, the Fiesta R200 is not FIA homologated and is thus intended for national championships. Based on the standard Ford Fiesta R2, which has achieved global success since its launch in 2009, the R200 variant comes complete with a modified induction system which allows the engine an added 30hp.

Both cars will be officially launched at the Autosport Show in the UK in January, after which they will be available for sale from M-Sport.

Matthew Wilson said:
“It’s been a while since Chris [Patterson, co-driver] and I have used organisers pacenotes, so it took a while to get back into the swing of things. But once we found our rhythm we really got a feeling for the car and how much performance it can produce.
"We all know how competitive the standard Fiesta R5 is, and this upgrade just adds to that. It’s a great package for national events.”

Elfyn Evans said:
“It was great to be out on the stages again last weekend, and I was impressed with the extra power the Fiesta R200 provides. I spent a lot of years competing with the Fiesta R2, and this is a great upgrade – you can really feel the power increase. We were able to set some really strong times, and I think we’ve proved how good the car can be on national rallies."


Posted: January 29, 2014 5:44 PM

Seeded Entry List

Posted: November 26, 2013 11:20 AM

1 Alex Allingham/Chris Williams (Subaru Impreza) [5]
2 Matthew Wilson/Chris Patterson (Ford Fiesta R5) [5]
3 Paul Bird/Aled Davies (Ford Focus WRC) [5]
4 Peter Stephenson/Ian Windress (Ford Focus) [5]
5 Derek McGeehan/Darragh Mullen (Mini WRC ) [5]
6 Gary Tomlinson/Stephen Thompson (Subaru Impreza) [5]
7 Brendan Cumiskey/Conor Foley (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6) [5]
8 Simon Bowen/Richard Robinson (Subaru Impreza) [5]
9 Thomas Preston/Jamie Forrest (Mitsubishi Evo 6) [5]
10 Ashley Hodge/Steve Pugh (Ford Escort Mk2) [3]
11 Jon Caen/Mark Morris (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo III) [5]
12 Alex Parpottas/Alex Kihurani (Ford Fiesta) [2]
13 Paul Bonas/Abie Haycock (Subaru Impreza) [5]
14 John Rintoul/Alan Cowan (Mitsubishi Evo 8) [5]
15 William Midgley/Geoff Maybank (Toyotya Corolla) [2]
16 John Bainbridge/Giles Dykes (Subaru Impreza) [5]
17 Duncan Ferguson/Janice Ferguson (Ford Escort MkII BDG) [3]
18 Tony Thompson/Paul Hudson (Subaru Impreza) [5]
19 Alastair McSkimming/Michael Cruickshank (MG Metro 6R4) [5]
20 Andy Gibson/Dave Gibson (Ford Escort MK2) [3]
21 Jim Slater/Chris Slater (Toyota Corolla AE86) [2]
22 David Wallbank/Mike Scrimgour (Escort Mk 2) [3]
23 Steve Head/Jonny Grisedale (Proton Satria) [2]
24 Mike Dunning/Mike Allen (Ford Escort RS2000 mk2) [3]
25 Barry Lindsay/Michael Lindsay (Peugeot 206) [2]
26 Michael Dwan/Jane Clark (Suburu Impreza STi) [5]
27 David Dobson/Phil Sandham (Ford MK 2 Escort Pinto) [3]
28 Mark Shaw/James Coxon (Talbot Sunbeam) [2]
29 Darren Martin/Martin Steele (Mitsubishi EVO 8) [5]
30 Malcolm Davey/Paul Slingsby (Ford Escort Mk1) [2]
31 Mark Nuttall/Ben Anderson (Mini Cooper S) [4]
32 Colin Hope/Nick Patrick (Ford Focus) [3]
33 Nigel Hunt/Andrew Wright (Peugeot 205 GTI) [3]
34 Chris Marlow/Garry Green (BMW 316 Compact) [4]
35 Ramith Sarathchandra/Myles Kumar (Ford Escort MkII) [3]
36 Chris Melling/Dave Riley (Peugeot 205 Gti) [2]
37 Jonathan Atkinson/Andrew Storey (Talbot Sunbeam) [2]
38 Mark Goodfellow/Kyle Gass (Subaru Impreza N8) [5]
101 Malcolm Hague/Dave Read (MG ZR) [1]
102 Graham Gaskell/Heather Grisedale (Vauxhall Nova SRi) [1]
103 Bryan Gibson/Matthew Gibson (Ford Escort MK2) [1]
104 Richard Gemmell/Scott Dance (MG ZR 105) [1]
105 Dave Brick/Freddy Brick (Vauhall Nova) [1]
106 Sian Beaty/Dave Antrobus (Ford Ka) [1]
107 Dave Head/Andy Darlington (Suzuki Super Swift) [1]
108 Gary Rigg/Claire Rigg (Austin Mini) [1]

Entries Received

Posted: November 14, 2013 11:52 AM

Available at:

Regulations / Details

Posted: September 4, 2013 12:07 PM

Topics: Grizedale stages 

Twitter Feed