Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

Kerry (Banna) Mini Stages Rally - 11 Nov 12

Posted: February 27, 2014 1:40 PM - 12899 Hits

Round 6 - 2012 West Coast Rally Championship

Photo: James Burke

In Car

Posted: February 27, 2014 1:40 PM

Frank Kelly & Liam Brennan (Ford Escort MkII)

Barry Ryan & Emmet Sherry (Ford Escort MkII 1.6 16V) SS4

Colin Roche & Donal Balfe (Toyota Starlet) SS2 (Off)

Denis Dowling & Maguerite Dowling (Ford Escort MkII) SS2

Posted: February 27, 2014 1:38 PM

Posted: February 27, 2014 1:33 PM


Posted: February 27, 2014 1:21 PM

1 James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90 GTR) 35m 19s,
2 Roy White/Martin Brady (MG ZR S2000) 36m 11s,
3 Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 Gp N) 36m 17s,
4 Ed Synan/Denis O'Connell (Ford Escort MkII) 37m 24s,
5 John Hendy/Enda Kennedy (Toyota Corolla RWD) 37m 42s,
6 Frank Kelly/Liam Brennan (Ford Escort MkII) 37m 50s,
7 Stephen McCann/Lisa O'Dowd (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 7) 37m 56s,
8 David Murphy/John Gleeson (Ford Escort MkII) 38m 05s,
9 Cal McCarthy/Eamonn Dullea (Honda Civic) 38m 16s,
10 Eamon Dervan/John Devine (Ford Escort) 38m 29s.

Leaders After
SS1-6 James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90 GTR)

Stage Winners:
SS1 James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90 GTR)
SS2 James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90 GTR)
SS3 James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90 GTR)
SS4 James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90 GTR)
SS5 Roy White/Martin Brady (MG ZR S2000)
SS6 James Stafford/Amy Ryan (Darrian T90 GTR)

Rally Programmes

Posted: November 9, 2012 9:05 AM

Rally Programmes for sale at the following outlets:

    Horgan's Centra, Ardfert,
    Gala Mounthawk Tralee,
    Moriarty's Farranfore,
    Dominick Kelly's Six Crosses Listowel,
    Sheehy's Londis Ballyduff,
    Daybreak Lisselton,
    Buckleys Londis Ballybunion,
    Supervalu Listowel,
    Fitzgeralds Tyres Listowel,
    Spar, Bridge Road, Listowel,
    Greaney's Spar, Listowel (Next to Service),
    Kingdom Crash Repairs, Tralee (Mechanical Scruitiny),
    Rally HQ (Banna Beach Resort),


Posted: November 8, 2012 3:32 PM

This coming weekend’s Banna Beach Resort Kerry Mini Stages Rally has attracted a top class entry of 147 entries which includes some of the best rally crews in the country. The rally which is the final round of Ireland’s number 1 regional rally championship the Top Part West Coast Championship which will see a major battle between Tyrone’s Frank Kelly/Liam Brennan (Ford Escort MK11), Athea’s Colm Murphy/Don Montgomery (Subaru N12B) and Newcastlewest’s Frank Sweeney/Jane Coogan(Ford Escort MK11) all vying to be crowned the 2012 champions. Kelly and Brennan have already been crowned the Dunlop National Mark 11 and Rally.ie 2 wheel drive champions in the Dunlop series and will be in top form after Kelly winning the recent Garda Mini Stages last month, whilst Murphy and Montgomery won the Group N title in the series along with wining the Circuit of Munster rally in June. With dropped scores taking into account the 2 crews are level on points going to Banna while Sweeney/Coogan are just 5 points behind and even though their Escort will have less power any mistake by Kelly or Murphy will give the Limerick crew a very strong chance.

Seeded at number 1 for the event are 2010 winners Alan Ring/Adrian Deasy in their Munster Joinery livered Mitsubishi Evo 9. The Castleisland man is in fine form at the moment having recently finished 2nd overall to 2012 Irish Tarmac Champions Daragh O’Riordan/Tony McDaid on the Fastnet Stages Rally. A second victory in Banna for the crew would be a terrific achievement for the crew having lost the chance last year when their Mitsubishi engine dropped power. At number 2 are Frank Kelly/Liam Brennan followed at number 3 by Colm Murphy/Don Montgomery. At 4 is the very powerful Darrian T90 of Wexford’s James Stafford/Amy Ryan. Stafford will be one of the favourites to win the rally having recently won the Dick Bailey Rally and only loosing out on winning in Banna on a tie break in 2009 to double British Rally Champion Keith Cronin. Behind Stafford are Tipperary’s Roy White/Martin Brady (MG ZR) followed by a quartet of Ford Escorts of Barry Ryan/Emmet Sherry, Frank Sweeney/Jane Coogan and Eamon Devran/Keith Gardnier and Listowel’s Tommy Mason/Gene Stack. Rounding off the top 10 is the ultra quick John Hendy/Enda Kennedy in a Toyota Corolla Twin Cam.

Some of the local crews who will be competing for overall and class awards are Darren Young/Sean Walsh (Honda Civic), Pat Slattery/Tommy Healy (Honda Civic), Mike O’Connor/Gerry Lynch (Mitsubishi Evo), Pj O’Dowd/Padraig Foran (Talbot Sunbeam), Ger O’Brien/Kevin Savage, Denis Collin/Tommy Commane, Charlie Hickey/Johnny Hickey, Pat Barry Stephen O’Connell, Tim Enright/Stephen Buckley, John O’Keefe/ Brendan Duffin all competing in Ford Escorts.

Scrutiny takes place on Saturday in Tralee where the cars and crews equipment will go through strict safety checks before the cars will enter overnight Parc Ferme in Banna. The 1st competing car will leave Banna Beach Resort on Sunday morning at 9.30 am and will attend a tyre change and service in the old Listowel town mart before the crews face 2 stages repeated 3 times in North Kerry which will include 2 more service halts in Listowel after stages 2 and 4. The crews will than return to the finish ramp at Banna Beach Resort at 3pm where the winning crew will receive a champagne reception and the 2012 Top Part West Coast Rally Champions will be announced .

A full colour rally program which will include a colour map of the stages and the full entry list will be available from Thursday in local shops and a list of shop will be available on the club website.

Time & Distance Schedule / Final Instructions / Scrutiny Times / Final Instructions

Posted: November 8, 2012 3:30 PM

Available at:

Marshal meeting points for Kerry Mini Stages

Posted: November 7, 2012 1:48 PM

SS 1 Ryans Daybreak Filling Station, Lisselton Cross, Lisselton. Meeting at 8:15 am

SS2 Buckleys Filling Station, Ballybunion. Meeting at 8:30 am

For more details Contact the Chief Marshal at 086-1043293

Regulations / On Line Entry / Details

Posted: October 14, 2012 7:31 AM

Twitter Feed