Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

West Coast Rally Championship Prizegiving - (Sat) 23 Jan 10

Posted: January 26, 2010 12:25 PM - 6167 Hits

Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis Co Clare on Saturday 23 January 2010.

John Dillane (Top Part), Niall Maguire (Winning Driver),
Mary Fitzgerald (West Coast Championship),
Enda Sherry (Winning Navigator)
Photo: Dermot Kelleher


Posted: January 26, 2010 12:25 PM


Posted: January 26, 2010 12:08 PM

The 2009 Awards Ceremony for The” Top Part West Coast Rally Championship” which was hosted by the Clare Motor Club took place in the Auburn Lodge Hotel last saturday night.

This very popular seven round championship consists of rallies in Birr, Kerry, Limerick and Clare.

The awards ceremony was well attended with drivers, navigators, event organisers, team sponsors, familys and friends who turned out from all over the country to honour the 2009 prize winners.

MC’s for the night were the voice of irish motorsport Duggie Hughes an honoury member of the Clare Motor Club and Bill Fitzgerald, chairman of the West Coast Rally Championship Committee. John Dillane MD of Top Part Ennis also attended and presented the competitors with their awards.

The overall winners of the 09 championship Niall Maguire / Enda Sherry from Monaghan thanked the championship organising committee and all the various motor clubs for organising a fantastic championship in such hard economical times and they also thanked the Clare Club for hosting the Aawards Ceremony.

There was a lot of Clare Motor Club Competitors among the prizewinners with local navigator Grainne McEnery from Ennis finishing second overall in the championship with kerry driver Mike Quinn in their Ford Escort Mk2. Grainne and Mike who started rallying together at the beginning of 2009 have had a fantastic year. Along with finishing second overall in the west coast championship they also won the rally.ie award for the fastest two wheel drive car in the 09 National Rally Championship and the also won the modified section in the Historic Rally of the Lakes which took place in Killarney.
Third overall in the top part championship was kerry pair Thomas Fitzmaurice / Fionn Foley in their Mitsubishi Evo 9.

Trevor and Kenny Bustard were the overall Group N winners while Ed Synan / Denis O’Connell won the overall two wheel drive award. The overall Junior winners were Patrick and Gerard Divilly.

Clare Motor Club members who won awards included, Anthony O’Halloran / Charlie McEnery who won class 4 in their Mitsubishi Evo 9, Leanne Flanagan finished second in class 10. Joe Baker finished joint fourth in class eleven while navigator Jim Casey finished second in class 13.

In the Junior section Martin Casey / Derek Flynn finished first in class 16 followed by Patrick Kelly who finished second also in class 16, both driving Honda Civics. The Clare Motor Club who celebrates 30 years this year also honoured some of its members with awards.

The club presented Grainne McEnery with a merit award for her achievements in 2009. Clerk of the course for the Clare Hillclimb Weekend John McNamara was also presented with a merit award for winning the prestigeous Dick Bailey Award for the best run hillclimb weekend in 2009.

Tommy Flanagan was presented with The Jamie Leonard Cup as he was the winner of the club championship. Recently elected club secretary Martin Leahy from Ruan was presented with the club person of the year award for all the work he has put into the club and neighbouring clubs during the year.

The 2010 Top Part West Coast Rally Championship will start again with the first round taking place in Birr on February 28th. followed bt Kerry, Limerick, Galway, Clare and Kerry Mini Stages.

Details / Tickets:

Posted: January 7, 2010 11:27 AM

2009 Top Part West Coast Awards Night 23rd January 2010.
@ The Auburn Lodge Hotel Gort Rd Ennis Co Clare

Tickets For Awards Night Are Now Available To Purchase By Contacting; 0868055884 or 0862162464.
Tickets Are Priced At €50 Each.

The Auburn Lodge Hotel Are Offering A Special Rate For People Attending The Awards Night
More Details:

Preliminary Details

Posted: January 3, 2010 9:47 PM

The 2009 Top Part Awards Night will be held in the Auburn Lodge Hotel Ennis Co Clare on Saturday 23 January 2010. Full details including contact name for tickets and special hotel rates will be available shortly

Twitter Feed