Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

2004 Border Rally Championship Prizegiving - (Fri) 26 Nov 04

Posted: December 1, 2004 12:07 PM - 6041 Hits

Maguire & McLoughlin pick up Border Championship Award

Photo: James Burke
On Friday night last almost 300 guests gathered in the Hotel Kilmore , Cavan to celebrate yet another successful Border Rally Championship year , and to present the worthy award winners with their Cavan Crystal Trophies. Lifting the 2004 Overall Driver Award on the night was Niall Maguire in accumulated maximum score of 40 points for four class eight wins , mirrored by fellow crew member Paul Mc Loughlin who lifted the Navigator title.

Posted: December 1, 2004 12:07 PM

Niall Maguire,on lifting the Overall Award , on the back of his third National title received the previous weekend , expressed the importance to him of receiving Border title for the first time , it being three in a row for Monaghan , John Kelly in 2002 and Enda Keenan in 2003, but also as both himself and Paul have been supportive of the Clubmans Championship for many years and what it aspires to achieve , even though on this occasion it was won by a class eight car. For Paul it was also significant, being a first having had been runner up on two occasions in the past .For those present on the night , they also had the opportunity , courtesy of Gerard Mc Carron extensive repertoire of footage to view some spectacular nostalgic moments from both crew men in their many past sporting escapades.

Also on the maximum of 40 points in class 10 David Leonard lifted the second overall, only being determined by their first dropped score, which ironically was a seven points on his home event, as against Maguireā€™s nine on the final round in Donegal , with the third overall award going to Shane Feely in class 6 elevating his fellow Boyle competitor Jim Mc Grath to second overall on the navigator table. Jason Mc Kenna was presented with third overall Navigator Award primarily accumulated while sitting with Maurice Moffitt but also benefited by his class win with Enda Keena in Newry.

Championship Committee Chairman , Joe Conboy addressed the gathering , saying that he was delighted with the continual success of the class based six round championship in its fourteenth year and expressed great optimism that it will continue to give a platform to club competitors.He took the opportunity to thank all six clubs involved , Mayo, Monaghan , Cavan , Newry & Mourne , Sligo and Donegal for their commitment to the championship and to every competitor who participated throughout the year and acknowledged the importance of those who marshaled at every event . What better opportunity also among the hospitality of one of the groups flagship hotels , the Kilmore , to acknowledge the valuable sponsorship of the Quinn Group to the championship for the last two years .

The guests present were saddened to learn of the recent untimely death of Eddie O Hora from Killala , and as a mark of respect a minute silence was observed, while condolences was also conveyed to his family and friends. Eddie competed at numerous events in the north west , contesting the championship in 2002 and also competed on both Mayo and Cavan earlier this year.

Twitter Feed