Upcoming Events

 Past Events

 Future Events

2003 Border Rally Championship

Posted: November 4, 2003 6:54 PM - 21679 Hits

2003 Quinn Group Border Rally Championship
Enda Kennan captures Overall Championship honours on the Donegal Harvest
Thanks to Padraic Boylan

Following a season of superb class results throughout the championship ,consisting of four class wins and one second, with the only unfortunate exception being a retirement on his home event in Monaghan , Enda Kennan has claimed the 2003 Quinn Group Border Rally Championship overall title, going once again for the second year running to a Monaghan driver . This was overwhelmingly clinched by the determined Monaghan man with another Class 14 win at the concluding round in Donegal of the Class based championship,overcoming the challenges from locals P.J Bonner ,and Paul Reid who incidentally set fastest times on the opening loop of stages in the morning in the class.

Posted: November 4, 2003 6:54 PM

The other main contender for the coveted title entering the final round , Convoy driver , Danny Mc Bride sadly brought his chances of claiming the overall title to an end retiring on stage three, leaving Daniel Conaghan in Class 9 and Adrian Fox in Class 10 being the only competitors capable of toppling Keenans chances should he fail to take top spot in his Class , which was put in no doubt over the final two stages returning a comfortable margin of almost ten seconds on his nearest class rival at the finish ramp.

Both Daniel Conaghan , who led his class from start and Adrian Fox who , after setting second fastest on stage one , took control and set fastest in class ten for the remainder of the day ,both took class honors returning to the Holiday Inn in Letterkenny , giving them both also maximum points in the Championship , equaling Enda Kennans total , but the title being determined by the first tie break score of 9 , which was achieved for a second in class finish in the opening round in Mayo. The second and third overall position would be determined by the second tie break score with Daniel Conaghan having the advantage gaining a valuable point while entering the Newry round putting him in second . Adrian Fox will then take third in the Quinn Group Championship. The battle for the Navigator title would shadow the second and third driver spots , with Conaghan’s navigator Liam Mc Loughlin taking the title as Adrian Fox’s man on the notes ,Philip Tobin takes the second place honours , both achieving maximum points of four class wins. The third place was a closer call with regulations determining Brian Davidson on 39 points to take the honours after coming out on top of Class 11.

Overall Leaders (Drivers) 

1st ENDA KEENAN  40 points
2nd DANIEL CONAGHAN 40 points
3rd ADRIAN FOX  40 points

Overall Leaders (Navigators) 

1st LIAM MC LOUGHLIN 40 points
2nd PHILIP TOBIN  40 points
3rd BRIAN DAVIDSON  39 points



Class 1 Paddy Walker 35 Stephen Furey 34
Class 2  Danny Mc Bride 39 John Kilmurray 25
Class 3  Thomas O Rourke 33 John O Rourke 33
Class 4  Derek Jobb  25 Killian Duffy  25
Class 5 Kieran Henry  36 Aidan Gannon 36
Class 6  Shane Feely  36 Jim Mc Grath 34
Class 7 Brian Doherty 32  Michael O Kane 25
Class 8 Eugene Donnelly 37 Paddy Toner  28
Class 9 Noel Lappin  36 Paul Purtill  34
Class 10 James Cassidy 33 Joseph Cassidy 33
Class 11 Peter Rodgers 39 Bryon Davidson 39
Class 12 Trevor Lancashire  37 Noel Hall  37
Class 13  Norman Armstrong 38 Martin Sherlock 28
Class 14 P.J. Bonner  25 Colm Mc Cafferty 19
Class 15  Alan Nesbitt  36 Enda Sherry  36

Teams Connacht   80

Twitter Feed