BIRR & DISTRICT MOTOR CLUB LTD

ABBEYLEIX MANOR HOTEL STAGES RALLY 2014

REGULATIONS

Sunday 23rd February 2014

Round 1

TOP PART WEST COAST RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP

&

LOUGHRANSIGNS.COM MIDLANDS EAST RALLY CHAMPIONSHIP

Rally HQ: Abbeyleix Manor Hotel, Abbeyleix Co Laois. (057) 8730111

ORGANISED AND PROMOTED BY

BIRR & DISTRICT MOTOR CLUB LTD

www.birrmotorclub.com

ORGANISATION

- 1) The Birr Stages Rally is promoted and organised by Birr & District Motor Club Ltd (hereinafter called the promoters.)
- 2) The Rally is a qualifying round of the following championships:

Top Part West Coast Rally Championship,

Loughransigns.com Midlands East Rally Championship

- 3) The Rally will take place over a route of approx. 120 stage kilometres
- 4) These regulations have been submitted to and approved by Motorsport Ireland and the necessary permit for holding of the competition has been granted . MI Permit Number $14\$

Article 1.

The Competition will be held under the International Sporting Code of the F.I.A, the General Competition Rules of Motorsport Ireland and Appendices 25 and 29 of the Motorsport Ireland Year book and these supplementary Regulations. All Competitors who forward completed Entry Forms agree to be bound by these rules.

Article 2.

(A) The Supplementary Regulations for the Rally are stated by Motorsport Ireland Regulations and Definitions 2014 Year Book. Copies of the book can be obtained From Motorsport Ireland, Competitions Department, 34 Dawson Street, Dublin 2.

(B) Final Instructions will form an integral part of the Supplementary Regulations.

Article 3.

- (A) Entries open on the 13th of January 2014.
- (B) All completed entry forms must be sent to the Entries Secretary with the appropriate fee:

Entries Secretary: Clodagh Henehan Woodlands, Barrymore, Athlone, Co Roscommon.

Clodagh Henehan Tel: (087) 9117707 or (090) 6490397 NO CALLS AFTER 9.30pm

Entry Fee €485, including Personal Accident Insurance and Standard IRDS Insurance. Junior & Historics Entry Fee €260 including Personal Accident Insurance and Standard IRDS Insurance and Fire Extinguisher Levy.

• All cheques to be made out to: Birr & District Motor Club.

Cheques may only be post dated to the 14th February 2014

- (C) All drivers must produce a letter of acceptance from one of the IRDS/BRDS Insurance Schemes.
- **(D)** The Club reserves the right to refuse an entry without assigning a reason Closing Date for entries is on Friday 14th February 2014.

Article 4.

- (A) Pace notes will be available for sale from Third Parties. The club has no involvement with their preparation or sale and accepts no responsibility for their accuracy or otherwise.
- **(B)** Entries are confined to 131. Should more than 131 fully paid up entries be received, entries will be allocated as follows:
- (a) Priorities in **Top Part West Coast Rally Championship** and **Loughransigns.com Midlands East Rally Championship**, as per Championship Regulations.
- (b) Ten at organisers discretion.
- (c) The remainder will be drawn on a ballot.

TIMETABLE (Subject to Change)

Entries Open: Monday 13th January

Entries Close: Friday 14th February.

Final Instructions Posted: Monday 17th February

Entry List Published: Sunday 16th February

Saturday 22nd February

08:15am to 11:30am Recce Sign-On in the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel

08:30am to 16:00pm Recce, maximum 3 runs per stage

(penalty of exclusion for exceeding this number)

14:00pm to 19:30pm Mechanical scrutiny

15.00pm to 20:00pm Paper Scrutiny in the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel.

Sunday 23rd February

8.00am Competitors Safety Briefing in the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel. (Compulsory for all crews)

9.00am First Car Away 16:49pm First Car Finishes

Full Provisional Results no later than 19.00pm.

Final Results half hour later if no queries.

Prizegiving will take place no later than 30 Minutes after final results.

Entries:

Closing Date: Friday 14th February

Amount: Main field €485, Juniors & Historics €260,

including Personal Accident Insurance and IRDS at Standard Rate and Fire Extinguisher Levy.

LIST OF OFFICIALS

Clerk of the Course:

Deputy Clerk of the Course:

Assistant Clerk of the Course:

Mick Boland

Motorsport Ireland Stewards: Ed Colton & Senan Raggett

Motorsport Ireland Safety Officer:

Club Safety Officer:

John Tynan

Club Steward:

Event Secretary:

Clodagh Henehan

Chief Medical Officer:

Dr Padraig Conneally

Chief Marshall: Eoin Longworth & Ger Brophy

Chief Scrutineer:
Radio Controller:
Mary Fitzgerald
Press Officer:
Results Officer:
Results Provider
Results Provider
Competitor Liaison Officer:
Niall Mullane
Mary Fitzgerald
Ronan Shanahan
Ian O'Brien
Angus Sealy
Jakes Kelly

Car Accountability: Paddy Quigley & Richard Friday

Equipment Officer:

Chief Rescue Officer:

Road Closed:

Chief Time Keeper:

Service Area Manager

Mick Culleton

Frank Henehan

Niall Kearney

Eamon McGee

Connie Delaney

CLASSES

- Class 1. Group N & R1A cars up to 1400 cc.
- Class 2. Group N & R1B cars 1401 to 1600 cc.
- Class 3. Group N 1601 to 2000 cc.
- Class 4. Group N over 2000 cc, S2000-Rally: 1.6T (30mm restrictor) 2000cc Atmospheric & R4 cars.
- Class 5. Group A up to 1400 cc.
- Class 6. Group A & R2B cars 1401 to 1600 cc
- Class 7. Group A, R2C, R3C cars 1601 to 2000 cc & R3T (up to 1620cc nominal), R3D (up to 2000cc nominal)
- Class 8. Group A over 2000 cc, WRC (1.6T), Regional Rally Cars (RRCs) & R5 cars
- Class 9. Modified cars up to 1450cc, 2 wheel drive.
- Class 10. Modified cars 1451 to 1650cc, not more than 2 valves per cylinder, 2 wheel drive.
- Class 11F. Modified cars 1451 to 1650cc, more than 2 valves per cylinder, 2 wheel drive, Front Wheel Drive.
- Class 11R. Modified cars 1451 to 1650cc, more than 2 valves per cylinder, 2 wheel drive, Rear Wheel Drive.
- Class 12. Modified cars 1651 to 2100cc, not more than 2 valves per cylinder, 2 wheel drive.
- Class 13. Modified cars 1651 to 2100cc, more than 2 valves per cylinder, 2 wheel drive.
- Class 14. Modified cars 2101 to 3500cc, 2 wheel drive. (Max 2 valves per cylinder over 3000cc)
- Class 15. Four-wheel drive cars whose homologation has expired. See notes 3 & 5.
- Class 16. Juniors. Class Confined to 20 Entries. Licence holders under 26 years of age on 01-01-14 driving a car up to 1650cc. Juniors will compete on Stages 4 to 8
- Class 18. Historics (See Appendix 29, Articles 17-21)
- It is hoped that Historic Cars will compete on Stages 1 to 5 subject to the amount of starters in the main field. Otherwise they will compete on Stages 4 to 8.
- Class 20. 4 Wheel Drive Cars (4WD). See note 16 on classes.
- For further details on requirements for cars in classes 1 8 refer to FIA.com Appendix J articles 252 261

AWARDS

Overalls 1st 2nd & 3rd overall – 2 trophies per crew.

Classes 1st 2nd & 3rd 2 trophies per crew.

John Finnegan Memorial Trophy – Highest Finishing BADMC Co Driver in the Overall Results.

Other Awards (for those who have not already won an award) Please note your eligibility on your entry form.

Best Galway, Clare, Limerick & Kerry Crew.

Best Ladies Crew.

Biofuel Award.

1st. 2nd & 3rd Birr & District Motor Club Crews.

Best Co Laois Crew. Note to be eligible for this award Both Crew Members must reside in County Laois.

Other awards at Club's discretion.

The onus is on competitors to ensure that they are entered for the appropriate awards. All Trophies not Collected/Claimed by April 7th 2014 will be forfeited.